The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Players thought 2 shots..so did ref (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104126-players-thought-2-shots-so-did-ref.html)

bucky Wed Nov 07, 2018 03:29pm

Players thought 2 shots..so did ref
 
Can't recall which NCAAM game. Just happened. A1 shoots a FT and misses. Players stand around clearly expecting another FT. Baseline ref enters lane during rebound to administer 2nd FT. Shooter legally enters lane, corrals ball, shoots, and scores. Ref backpedals quickly to get out of the way. Play continues.

Raymond Wed Nov 07, 2018 03:54pm

Norfolk State @ Michigan. Video can be found on Facebook.

JRutledge Wed Nov 07, 2018 04:01pm

When did it happen in the game?

Peace

The_Rookie Wed Nov 07, 2018 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1025764)
When did it happen in the game?

Peace

13:06 first half....

Nevadaref Wed Nov 07, 2018 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1025770)
13:06 first half....

They were in the 1-1 that early? Yikes!

Raymond Thu Nov 08, 2018 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1025771)
They were in the 1-1 that early? Yikes!

Not only that, the score was 9-0 at the time. Zero points and 7 team fouls in a D1 game.

SC Official Thu Nov 08, 2018 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1025784)
Not only that, the score was 9-0 at the time. Zero points and 7 team fouls in a D1 game.

"Let 'em play!!!!!!!!!"

bob jenkins Thu Nov 08, 2018 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1025761)
Can't recall which NCAAM game. Just happened. A1 shoots a FT and misses. Players stand around clearly expecting another FT. Baseline ref enters lane during rebound to administer 2nd FT. Shooter legally enters lane, corrals ball, shoots, and scores. Ref backpedals quickly to get out of the way. Play continues.

Did the administering official announce two shots? Or announce 1-1 and the players just forgot?

If the latter, play on. If the former (based on the description), go to the arrow (at least in FED and NCAAW -- I don't know if NCAAM has the same AR)

Raymond Thu Nov 08, 2018 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1025786)
Did the administering official announce two shots? Or announce 1-1 and the players just forgot?

If the latter, play on. If the former (based on the description), go to the arrow (at least in FED and NCAAW -- I don't know if NCAAM has the same AR)

The only player who reacted as if it was 1-and-1 was the shooter. B1 had caught the missed free throw and was in the process of handing the ball to the Lead, who had stepped into the paint, when A1 came and swiped the ball and laid it in.

IMO, the play was not handled properly. I have no idea what led to the confusion.

BillyMac Thu Nov 08, 2018 03:46pm

For The Good Of The Cause ...
 
This (below) is high school, not college, and I'm not even sure that it matches the situation perfectly, but for the good of the cause, a reminder for all:

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that
two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is
rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another
throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound.
The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's
error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and
resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an
attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)

Raymond Thu Nov 08, 2018 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1025788)
This (below) is high school, not college, and I'm not even sure that it matches the situation perfectly, but for the good of the cause, a reminder for all:

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that
two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is
rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another
throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound.
The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's
error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and
resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an
attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)

Situation (b) is basically what happened, with A1 replacing A2 in the scenario. Rule is the same for college.

JRutledge Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1025770)
13:06 first half....

Here it goes:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/CFMcnZHu5EY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Sun Nov 11, 2018 02:02pm

We need to see the portion of play where the L administers the FT. Curious as to what he said/indicated. Seems very odd that nine (apparently) players and at least one official thought it was 2 shots. The L entering the lane on the miss leads me to believe that he had indicated 2 shots and if so, that was an error in administration.

JRutledge Sun Nov 11, 2018 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1025829)
We need to see the portion of play where the L administers the FT. Curious as to what he said/indicated. Seems very odd that nine (apparently) players and at least one official thought it was 2 shots. The L entering the lane on the miss leads me to believe that he had indicated 2 shots and if so, that was an error in administration.

Unfortunately, there is no portion of that video. You never saw what was told in the lane. The broadcast was showing the FT shooter almost the entire time and did not see or hear anything from the L on this FT situation other than after the shot was taken.

Someone was confused. Either the administering official or the players or even both. But it is a lesson that we have to keep our concentration even when it looks like it might not be much of a game.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1