The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 3.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2018, 11:52pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Because NCAA Men's has a rule that says once a defender deflects the ball in the front court either team can retrieve it in the back court, the play that is alluded to in 9 - 9 - 1 Exception is ruled the same in both rulesets. So it is not a difference, therefore does not need to be mentioned in the chart.
Help me here, Raymond.

My understanding is that, NCAA-M has allowed in 9-12.5: "A pass or any other loose ball in the front court that is deflected by a defensive player, which causes the ball to go into the backcourt may be recovered by either team even if the offense was the last to touch the ball before it went into the backcourt."

However . . .

The addition to NFHS 9-9-1 doesn't go that far: "EXCEPTION:* Any player located in the backcourt may recover a ball deflected from the frontcourt by the defense.”

Last-to-touch...first-to-touch, though not applicable in this situation in NCAA-M, still applies in NFHS. Right?

If so, this is a major difference between NCAA-M and NFHS. Which should have been mentioned in the comparison chart.

Right?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Imaginary" 3 foot restraining line? NFHS Throw Ins CO REF Basketball 19 Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:20pm
2016 NCAA Rule Change: OBS - "About to Receive" vs. "In the act of Catching" teebob21 Softball 15 Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:16pm
Obstruction/interference/"malicious" contact non-ruling (NFHS)... jcwells Baseball 7 Wed Jul 09, 2008 06:04pm
2007 NFHS Rules Changes - "Step and Reach" Dakota Softball 8 Mon Jul 10, 2006 02:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1