The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 09:57am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Thoughts on Block/Charge play and sequence that follows

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 24
Looks flagrant to me. Pushing the kid in mid air by his feet and having him land nearly on his head. Not sure about the original call. I think maybe a slow whistle and you just call the flagrant and move on.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 24
This play must either be ruled a common foul, intentional foul or flagrant foul based on NFHS rules. A technical foul cannot occur due to live ball contact.

Personally this appears flagrant to me. Throwing the player down with that extended arm is unnecessary, excessive and can be perceived as an intent to harm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,301
FP.

Maybe ALSO a T for the squaring up that happened after the P (I thought that's what the referee was doing because he signaled block first)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 10:37am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,220
It was going to be nothing, but when he threw up to the ground, he has got to go. I would call that flagrant. That is why you see the entire play.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 10:41am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,220
And who is the commentator, he clearly does not know rules in question?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,301
Suppose Defense had LGP. Is this then a charge AND a FP? So, a double foul?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Suppose Defense had LGP. Is this then a charge AND a FP? So, a double foul?
I know your post was somewhat in jest, but while he did have LGP, did he lose it when he extended his arms?

Of course, I have a flagrant on this no matter how we slice it.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I know your post was somewhat in jest, but while he did have LGP, did he lose it when he extended his arms?

Of course, I have a flagrant on this no matter how we slice it.
I was serious in that I think it's a good exercise in flagrants and double fouls and false double fouls, etc. I just wanted, for this purpose, to take the LGP as a given and not get into a debate over whether it really applies to this play.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 02:24pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Suppose Defense had LGP. Is this then a charge AND a FP? So, a double foul?

Could it theoretically be a Charge followed by a technical since the ball would then be dead?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 811
Not a charge at the NCAA level, because LGP cannot be established in the restricted area. In NFHS, this would initially be a no-call, because neither the defender nor the offensive player are doing anything wrong. However, once the defender flips the offensive player, all bets are off. It would be a flagrant foul (flagrant 2 foul in NCAA) with 2 free throws and possession for Black onot the endline. Flipping a person onto his head is not a basketball play, it is excessive contact, and also violent and unnecessary.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 02:58pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwodar View Post
This play must either be ruled a common foul, intentional foul or flagrant foul based on NFHS rules. A technical foul cannot occur due to live ball contact.

Personally this appears flagrant to me. Throwing the player down with that extended arm is unnecessary, excessive and can be perceived as an intent to harm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Looking at the replay, the ball has already entered the basket when the black team player throws the white team player over the shoulder. By rule, the ball is dead during this period, so a technical foul for dead-ball intentional or flagrant contact would be the right call to make here.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 465 Basketball · 73 Softball · 16 Baseball

Last edited by Stat-Man; Thu Sep 06, 2018 at 03:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Could it theoretically be a Charge followed by a technical since the ball would then be dead?
No. The other player was an airborne shooter. Contact with an airborne shooter, even if the ball is dead, is still a personal foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
Not a charge at the NCAA level, because LGP cannot be established in the restricted area.
You might want to rethink that statement. When was LGP actually established? Is isn't necessarily when he stops.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2018, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
Looking at the replay, the ball has already entered the basket when the black team player throws the white team player over the shoulder. By rule, the ball is dead during this period, so a technical foul for dead-ball intentional or flagrant contact would be the right call to make here.


Cannot have a T on contact with an airborne shooter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSU/AZ Block/Charge Play Freddy Basketball 17 Wed Nov 16, 2016 01:45pm
Block/Charge thoughts (video) JetMetFan Basketball 39 Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:55pm
Block/Charge Play stiffler3492 Basketball 38 Thu Dec 13, 2012 09:05am
Block/Charge: RA Play APG Basketball 21 Mon May 07, 2012 03:02pm
Charge and a block on the same play Coach Bill Basketball 33 Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1