The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2003, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Question 43 on IAABO/GHSA Refresher Exam 2003

As A-1 is chasing his/her interrupted dribble, A-1 steps on the boundary line. Official rules A-1 is out of bounds and awards the ball to team B. Is the official correct?

The answer I've been given is No.

As I think about it, this is different than my previous post. The question does not indicate whether or not A-1 touched the ball. The rulebook says that if the player steps on the boundary line while dribbling, he/she is out of bounds and that this does not depend on the player touching the ball at the time he/she stepped on the line. But in this case, the player lost control due to an interrupted dribble. I guess my confusion came from the fact that the rule book says that a player who loses control due to an interrupted dribble can not be called for an out of bounds violation. But what you are saying is that if the player gains control while out of bounds, he/she is out of bounds.


I hope I got that right!



Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1