Thread: dribbler OOB
View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2003, 02:18pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: So what can a player do after an interrupted dribble

Quote:
Originally posted by rwest
If he gains control while out of bounds, I understand that the ref should NOT blow the play dead for a violation. So, therefore, he just lets play continue, correct? Therefore, can player A1 dribble the ball again, as long as it doesn't touch the boundary line or anywhere out of bounds?
If A1 gains control while out of bounds, the ref SHOULD YES blow the play dead. The rule is only to NOT blow it dead, if A1 gains control AFTER being out of bounds, only on an interrupted dribble.

LEGAL:: A1 loses control, then steps oob, then steps back in, then re-establishes the dribble.

ILLEGAL:: A1 loses control, steps oob, touches ball before stepping in-bounds with at least one foot.

ALSO ILLEGAL:: A1 is dribbling. He pushes the ball down on a single bounce of the established dribble, steps out, steps back inbounds, then touches the ball again.

Reply With Quote