Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
So my question...when a defender bats a ball away, is this considered an interrupted dribble or a dribble that has ended...or both?
[/B]
|
If a defender bats the ball away,the dribble has now ended.Player control has also ended, but there is still team control.It is a loose ball. That means that the player that was dribbling can go get the ball,and either continue to dribble or grab the ball and legally start another dribble.It is not an interrupted dribble.
In an interrupted dribble,the ball is loose and there is no player control,but there is also still team control.The player that was dribbling can go get the ball,and can legally continue dribbling or they can grab the ball to end their dribble. They cannot dribble again,however,if they do grab the ball or touch it with 2 hands.That ends their dribble.
Naturally,in both cases any other player on the floor other than the dribbler can go get the loose ball,and either dribble,grab the ball without travelling,or grab the ball and start a dribble.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 11th, 2003 at 09:10 PM]