The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2018, 02:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
1. While the player was vertical, he doesn't get to move forward into contact. He hit the shooter's arms twice while stepping into the shooter, not maintaining verticality. Should be an easy call...Foul.

2. While you can hit the hand that is on the ball, you can't do that. The point of that rule is so that a ball handler can't just cover the ball with big mitts and prevent the defense from getting to it. That contact wasn't on a hand covering the ball. He completely missed the ball and got a hand, knocking it off away from the ball. Tough to see, but the contact was not legal.

3. About as easy as they come on illegal screens.

4. Travel. Ball was caught with left foot down above the FT line just as the right foot was coming up....left is the pivot. He steps to the right and then to the left again.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2018, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
1. Easy foul.
2. I got nothing.
3. Easy call, coach is mad at the guy setting the screen but that's on his point guard.
4. Travel. Would that have been called if he had gone up with an immediate shot? Or did it get called because he stopped and continued to pivot?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2018, 04:58pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,572
Plays 5-7 added (Video)

Play #5:


Play #6:


Play #7:


Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2018, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
#5. Couldn't tell on the travel for sure...so no travel. Defender moved into the offense after the offense jumped....block.

#6. Definitely hit the backboard first. Good call. If NFHS, I don't think it was on the way down. It was at the peak, however. Good block in HS.

#7. Hit the wrist, not the hand on the ball. Foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2018, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
1. Easy foul.
2. I got nothing.
3. Easy call, coach is mad at the guy setting the screen but that's on his point guard.
4. Travel. Would that have been called if he had gone up with an immediate shot? Or did it get called because he stopped and continued to pivot?



No chance this is called if he takes the shot, jumps, etc. It was called because he stopped the action.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2018, 11:35am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Play #8 On his last step white 5 changes direction and turns into red. That being said I don't know if red ever has both feet down but I'm not sure he needs too as white makes all the contact.

Last edited by jeremy341a; Tue Mar 06, 2018 at 12:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2018, 11:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Play #8 On his last step white 5 changes direction and turns into red. That being said I don't know if red ever has both feet down.
Prior to the contact Red defender grabs White's arm.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2018, 12:26pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Prior to the contact Red defender grabs White's arm.

I seen that although I wouldn't call that a grab but the call was blocking.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2018, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Play #8 On his last step white 5 changes direction and turns into red. That being said I don't know if red ever has both feet down but I'm not sure he needs too as white makes all the contact.
??? What does that mean ???

If a defender isn't in legal position, contact created by the offense can still be a block and usually is. And for that matter, red had both feet down 3-4 times.

I think it is still a block, but it has to be for the right reasons.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2018, 12:17pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
??? What does that mean ???

If a defender isn't in legal position, contact created by the offense can still be a block and usually is. And for that matter, red had both feet down 3-4 times.

I think it is still a block, but it has to be for the right reasons.
What I was getting at was red lost LGP as white beat him driving perpendicular to the endline. However on his last step white changes his direction by about 45 degrees. On this new trajectory red is in his path. However after white's last step although red is now in his path I don't think red ever has two feet down again to reestablish LGP but does he need to becasue isn't red entitled to that stop on the floor as he got there first. I liken it to the situation of a guard in the open court dribbling with a defender running next to him. If the guard changes direction to run over the defender next to him I'm not calling a block on him.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2018, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
What I was getting at was red lost LGP as white beat him driving perpendicular to the endline. However on his last step white changes his direction by about 45 degrees. On this new trajectory red is in his path. However after white's last step although red is now in his path I don't think red ever has two feet down again to reestablish LGP but does he need to because isn't red entitled to that spot on the floor as he got there first. I liken it to the situation of a guard in the open court dribbling with a defender running next to him. If the guard changes direction to run over the defender next to him I'm not calling a block on him.
Are you sure red loses LGP? Did white get head and shoulders by red? When white isn't moving directly at red, red can still have LGP. If that were not the case, an offensive player could always take 1 step away from an opponent to make them lose LGP then bowl them over if they're not stationary.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2018, 12:11am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicGuy View Post
No chance this is called if he takes the shot, jumps, etc. It was called because he stopped the action.
Bingo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About last night (Video) January 16, 2018 JRutledge Basketball 2 Wed Jan 17, 2018 01:02pm
ACC Tournament Plays (Video and requests) JRutledge Basketball 49 Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:59pm
SEC Tournament Plays (Requests and Video) JRutledge Basketball 11 Mon Mar 13, 2017 09:27am
Big East Tournament Plays (Video) JRutledge Basketball 7 Sat Mar 11, 2017 02:57pm
Big 12 Tournament plays (Video and Requests) JRutledge Basketball 6 Fri Mar 10, 2017 08:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1