The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Big Ten Tournament 2018 plays (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103607-big-ten-tournament-2018-plays-video.html)

JRutledge Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:54pm

Big Ten Tournament 2018 plays (Video)
 
Play #1
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/fkkJAKvnLSs" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #2
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/by7yiEQcLSY" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #3
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/K5lgN7wRdZw" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #4
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/CdLOyCBsPcY" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

AremRed Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:03pm

Play 1: Not a foul

Play 2: Not a foul

Play 3: Illegal screen

Play 4: Not a travel

Camron Rust Fri Mar 02, 2018 02:53am

1. While the player was vertical, he doesn't get to move forward into contact. He hit the shooter's arms twice while stepping into the shooter, not maintaining verticality. Should be an easy call...Foul.

2. While you can hit the hand that is on the ball, you can't do that. The point of that rule is so that a ball handler can't just cover the ball with big mitts and prevent the defense from getting to it. That contact wasn't on a hand covering the ball. He completely missed the ball and got a hand, knocking it off away from the ball. Tough to see, but the contact was not legal.

3. About as easy as they come on illegal screens.

4. Travel. Ball was caught with left foot down above the FT line just as the right foot was coming up....left is the pivot. He steps to the right and then to the left again.

ballgame99 Fri Mar 02, 2018 03:01pm

1. Easy foul.
2. I got nothing.
3. Easy call, coach is mad at the guy setting the screen but that's on his point guard.
4. Travel. Would that have been called if he had gone up with an immediate shot? Or did it get called because he stopped and continued to pivot?

JRutledge Fri Mar 02, 2018 04:58pm

Plays 5-7 added (Video)
 
Play #5:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/H51Mg_kBmMc" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #6:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/C-k3AwEsbc4" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #7:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/3hdCnF4ndTs" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Mar 02, 2018 09:25pm

#5. Couldn't tell on the travel for sure...so no travel. Defender moved into the offense after the offense jumped....block.

#6. Definitely hit the backboard first. Good call. If NFHS, I don't think it was on the way down. It was at the peak, however. Good block in HS.

#7. Hit the wrist, not the hand on the ball. Foul.

Raymond Sat Mar 03, 2018 08:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1018076)
Play 1: Not a foul

Play 2: Not a foul

Play 3: Illegal screen

Play 4: Not a travel

Not a travel???

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

JRutledge Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:52am

Added plays 8-12 (Video)
 
Play #8:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/44mlUsHc-eE" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #9:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/__cex1C9oAc" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #10:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qNc2UkqKdLI" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #11:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/lX9qYUjRWvg" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #12:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/BHc0q5s7l94" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bob jenkins Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:33am

8) Block

9) Easy illegal screen

10) U2 stayed in the BC until possession was gained, and there was no defender. Seems fine, but it's also fine for R or U2 to stay longer

11) PC

12) Rebounding foul

Camron Rust Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:57am

Play 8...block. Offensive player got around him and defender was moving into dribbler.

Play 9...illegal screen. This went largely uncalled for years but, after some emphasis on screens, is now getting called.

Play 10...not really any pressure off the tip. Not much for the new-C to look at once he determines that and sees that the T has turned around. The T did get down the court a little far for "trailing" the play. I would suggest staying at mid-court until the ball passes the division line.

Play 11. Maybe a bit of round heels but the dribbler did still knock him back. PC foul is fine.

Play 12. Good call. The contact removed an opponent from contention for the rebound and it wasn't clear that the right team was going to come up with the ball. If he had held off, white may have lost it.

Raymond Mon Mar 05, 2018 02:29pm

#8) defender grabs the dribbler's arm

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

MechanicGuy Mon Mar 05, 2018 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 1018110)
1. Easy foul.
2. I got nothing.
3. Easy call, coach is mad at the guy setting the screen but that's on his point guard.
4. Travel. Would that have been called if he had gone up with an immediate shot? Or did it get called because he stopped and continued to pivot?




No chance this is called if he takes the shot, jumps, etc. It was called because he stopped the action.

jeremy341a Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:35am

Play #8 On his last step white 5 changes direction and turns into red. That being said I don't know if red ever has both feet down but I'm not sure he needs too as white makes all the contact.

Raymond Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 1018239)
Play #8 On his last step white 5 changes direction and turns into red. That being said I don't know if red ever has both feet down.

Prior to the contact Red defender grabs White's arm.

jeremy341a Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1018240)
Prior to the contact Red defender grabs White's arm.


I seen that although I wouldn't call that a grab but the call was blocking.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1