The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rule Test Question #77 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10349-rule-test-question-77-a.html)

garote Wed Oct 08, 2003 02:51pm

All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.

Indy_Ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 02:55pm

yep!...as long as A1 has possession of the ball.

Dan_ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Indy_Ref
yep!...as long as A1 has possession of the ball.
Got a rule for that?

Indy_Ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Indy_Ref
yep!...as long as A1 has possession of the ball.
Got a rule for that?

How about 5-8, Article 3a.

rainmaker Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
A1 can request a time out. You can grant it if Team A has possession, and the ball is not in the air being passed from one teammate to another. If A1 doesn't have possession, I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting. Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

rainmaker Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Indy_Ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Indy_Ref
yep!...as long as A1 has possession of the ball.
Got a rule for that?

How about 5-8, Article 3a.

It says, "when...the ball is in control or at the disposal of A player of his/her team." It doesn't have to be A1.

mdray Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:20pm

rules
5-8-3a
4-35-1a
4-35-3

JRutledge Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:23pm

Just the NBA.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
Only the NBA has a rule against this.

Peace

Dan_ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
...If A1 doesn't have possession, I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting. Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

(Just nitpicking away here is all :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:54pm

Casebook play 5.8.3SitD(a).

rainmaker Wed Oct 08, 2003 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

Dan_ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

More nits: why can't A1, holding the ball, be OOB when requesting TO?


Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 08, 2003 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

More nits: why can't A1, holding the ball, be OOB when requesting TO?


Legal,if it's a throw-in.Anyone on Team A can.Also OK if ball is at disposal of Team A for a throw-in,too.
Rule 5-8-3(a)
Casebook play 5.8.3SitB or 5.8.3SitD(c).

BktBallRef Wed Oct 08, 2003 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

How do we know A1 is a she? ;)

(Just nitpicking away here is all) :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 08, 2003 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?


I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?


How do we know A1 is a she?
[/B][/QUOTE]Most of us don't have a problem knowing that,actually.

Some things to look for:long hair,skirts,lipstick,bumps on their sweaters....

If you need any more help,just ask.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1