The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rule Test Question #77 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10349-rule-test-question-77-a.html)

Jay R Wed Oct 08, 2003 07:35pm

Re: Just the NBA.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
Only the NBA has a rule against this.

Peace

And Feeble!

rainmaker Wed Oct 08, 2003 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

More nits: why can't A1, holding the ball, be OOB when requesting TO?


Legal,if it's a throw-in.Anyone on Team A can.Also OK if ball is at disposal of Team A for a throw-in,too.
Rule 5-8-3(a)
Casebook play 5.8.3SitB or 5.8.3SitD(c).

Wow, I am in awe. I just can't think so logically. Is this another estrogen problem?

Nevadaref Thu Oct 09, 2003 12:58am

Hey Juules!
OR at the disposal of a player from Team A for a free throw! :)


Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 09, 2003 04:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Hey Juules!
OR at the disposal of a player from Team A for a free throw! :)


How does that fall in line with a player or team mate calling a TO while they are OOB-which was the nit being discussed? :confused: The one above is just a simple example of a player holding a live ball in bounds.Different nits completely.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 9th, 2003 at 04:33 AM]

BktBallRef Thu Oct 09, 2003 09:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?


I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?


How do we know A1 is a she?

Most of us don't have a problem knowing that,actually.

Some things to look for:long hair,skirts,lipstick,bumps on their sweaters....

If you need any more help,just ask. [/B][/QUOTE]

Problem is, I can't see her.

Also, you obviously haven't been to a high school lately. :(

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 09, 2003 09:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
[/B]
Problem is, I can't see her.

Also, you obviously haven't been to a high school lately. [/B][/QUOTE]No....but I've been to a Holiday Inn Express!

mick Thu Oct 09, 2003 09:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If A1 doesn't have possession, <U>I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting.</U> Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Jewel,
If the team in possession wants a time out, just call it.
Don't overthink this mechanic. :)
mick


Indy_Ref Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If A1 doesn't have possession, <U>I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting.</U> Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Jewel,
If the team in possession wants a time out, just call it.
Don't overthink this mechanic. :)
mick


Exactly! I took the ORIGINAL post as one that was just looking for a quick true/false response...and my answer turned into a book-long discussion...

not that that's all bad, of course.

Dan_ref Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

More nits: why can't A1, holding the ball, be OOB when requesting TO?


Legal,if it's a throw-in.Anyone on Team A can.Also OK if ball is at disposal of Team A for a throw-in,too.
Rule 5-8-3(a)
Casebook play 5.8.3SitB or 5.8.3SitD(c).

Wow, I am in awe. I just can't think so logically. Is this another estrogen problem?

Not sure who you're in awe of here but I've been told by many coaches that I inspire awe....pssst, hey Chuck, that is what aweful means, aint it?


ChuckElias Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
I've been told by many coaches that I inspire awe....pssst, hey Chuck, that is what aweful means, aint it?
Sure, pardner, sure.

rainmaker Thu Oct 09, 2003 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If A1 doesn't have possession, <U>I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting.</U> Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Jewel,
If the team in possession wants a time out, just call it.
Don't overthink this mechanic. :)
mick


I suppose you're right. I'm used to the level of play where the coach says, "Time out?!? What for?!?! Lindsey, what the heck are you doing?!?!" Trying to be judicious about my response to the player who is committing a very stupid act.

Dan_ref Thu Oct 09, 2003 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If A1 doesn't have possession, <U>I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting.</U> Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Jewel,
If the team in possession wants a time out, just call it.
Don't overthink this mechanic. :)
mick


I suppose you're right. I'm used to the level of play where the coach says, "Time out?!? What for?!?! Lindsey, what the heck are you doing?!?!" Trying to be judicious about my response to the player who is committing a very stupid act.

:D

Don't worry about Lindsey, she's a tough little cookie!

rainmaker Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I suppose you're right. I'm used to the level of play where the coach says, "Time out?!? What for?!?! Lindsey, what the heck are you doing?!?!" Trying to be judicious about my response to the player who is committing a very stupid act.
Don't worry about Lindsey, she's a tough little cookie!

Okay, let's see.... I'm, uh... taking pity on the coach! Yea, that's it! The poor long-suffering coach who worked with the girls all week on requesting time-out when they were falling out of bounds--- with the ball!! And now Lindsey pulls this stunt... Augh!!! I think it's to the ref's advantage to give the coach the sympathetic raised eye-brow, so she knows she's still in charge, eh? Or, (south of North Dakota and Minnesota) ...still in charge, y'know?

BktBallRef Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Problem is, I can't see her.

Also, you obviously haven't been to a high school lately. [/B]
No....but I've been to a Holiday Inn Express! [/B][/QUOTE]

Hope the wifey doesn't find out!

Nevadaref Fri Oct 10, 2003 06:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Hey Juules!
OR at the disposal of a player from Team A for a free throw! :)


How does that fall in line with a player or team mate calling a TO while they are OOB-which was the nit being discussed? :confused: The one above is just a simple example of a player holding a live ball in bounds.Different nits completely.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 9th, 2003 at 04:33 AM]

That whooshing sound you heard was this one going over your head, JR. So I'll slow it down for ya. :)
We are returning from a TO to shoot free throws and Team A doesn't break their huddle as required after the first horn and is still at their bench after the second horn, so the official uses the resuming-play procedure and places the ball at the disposal of the free thrower by putting it down in the semi-circle and the proper official starts the ten second count. Now a smart player from Team A who is still OOB at his team's bench realizes that they are going to violate and requests a TO. No player holding the ball inbounds and the TO request comes from a player who is OOB.
Hence, my nit!



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1