Jurassic Referee |
Fri Oct 10, 2003 02:39pm |
Quote:
Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
[/B]
|
There is no definition in Rule 4 for "call", "request", or "grant". So we'll have to use the dictionary definitions. The interesting one is definition 1b for the word "call" at http://www.m-w.com: to make a request or demand
Rule 2-7-6 says that the officials' general duties include "Granting time-out." The word "grants" is also used in 5-8-3. 5-8-3 is "Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out..."
So I'd say that a player or head coach "calling" time-out is, by definition, a "request", and the officials' duties are to "grant" that time-out CALLED by the player or head coach.
[/B][/QUOTE]Right,Coach,we either grant,or do not grant,your request. It's that simple. The semantics don't really matter as long as everyone knows that it is not an automatic process if you try to "call" a TO.
|