The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rule Test Question #77 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10349-rule-test-question-77-a.html)

garote Wed Oct 08, 2003 02:51pm

All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.

Indy_Ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 02:55pm

yep!...as long as A1 has possession of the ball.

Dan_ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Indy_Ref
yep!...as long as A1 has possession of the ball.
Got a rule for that?

Indy_Ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Indy_Ref
yep!...as long as A1 has possession of the ball.
Got a rule for that?

How about 5-8, Article 3a.

rainmaker Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
A1 can request a time out. You can grant it if Team A has possession, and the ball is not in the air being passed from one teammate to another. If A1 doesn't have possession, I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting. Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

rainmaker Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Indy_Ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Indy_Ref
yep!...as long as A1 has possession of the ball.
Got a rule for that?

How about 5-8, Article 3a.

It says, "when...the ball is in control or at the disposal of A player of his/her team." It doesn't have to be A1.

mdray Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:20pm

rules
5-8-3a
4-35-1a
4-35-3

JRutledge Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:23pm

Just the NBA.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
Only the NBA has a rule against this.

Peace

Dan_ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
...If A1 doesn't have possession, I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting. Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

(Just nitpicking away here is all :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 08, 2003 03:54pm

Casebook play 5.8.3SitD(a).

rainmaker Wed Oct 08, 2003 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

Dan_ref Wed Oct 08, 2003 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

More nits: why can't A1, holding the ball, be OOB when requesting TO?


Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 08, 2003 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

More nits: why can't A1, holding the ball, be OOB when requesting TO?


Legal,if it's a throw-in.Anyone on Team A can.Also OK if ball is at disposal of Team A for a throw-in,too.
Rule 5-8-3(a)
Casebook play 5.8.3SitB or 5.8.3SitD(c).

BktBallRef Wed Oct 08, 2003 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

How do we know A1 is a she? ;)

(Just nitpicking away here is all) :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 08, 2003 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?


I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?


How do we know A1 is a she?
[/B][/QUOTE]Most of us don't have a problem knowing that,actually.

Some things to look for:long hair,skirts,lipstick,bumps on their sweaters....

If you need any more help,just ask.

Jay R Wed Oct 08, 2003 07:35pm

Re: Just the NBA.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
Only the NBA has a rule against this.

Peace

And Feeble!

rainmaker Wed Oct 08, 2003 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

More nits: why can't A1, holding the ball, be OOB when requesting TO?


Legal,if it's a throw-in.Anyone on Team A can.Also OK if ball is at disposal of Team A for a throw-in,too.
Rule 5-8-3(a)
Casebook play 5.8.3SitB or 5.8.3SitD(c).

Wow, I am in awe. I just can't think so logically. Is this another estrogen problem?

Nevadaref Thu Oct 09, 2003 12:58am

Hey Juules!
OR at the disposal of a player from Team A for a free throw! :)


Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 09, 2003 04:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Hey Juules!
OR at the disposal of a player from Team A for a free throw! :)


How does that fall in line with a player or team mate calling a TO while they are OOB-which was the nit being discussed? :confused: The one above is just a simple example of a player holding a live ball in bounds.Different nits completely.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 9th, 2003 at 04:33 AM]

BktBallRef Thu Oct 09, 2003 09:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?


I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?


How do we know A1 is a she?

Most of us don't have a problem knowing that,actually.

Some things to look for:long hair,skirts,lipstick,bumps on their sweaters....

If you need any more help,just ask. [/B][/QUOTE]

Problem is, I can't see her.

Also, you obviously haven't been to a high school lately. :(

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 09, 2003 09:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
[/B]
Problem is, I can't see her.

Also, you obviously haven't been to a high school lately. [/B][/QUOTE]No....but I've been to a Holiday Inn Express!

mick Thu Oct 09, 2003 09:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If A1 doesn't have possession, <U>I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting.</U> Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Jewel,
If the team in possession wants a time out, just call it.
Don't overthink this mechanic. :)
mick


Indy_Ref Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If A1 doesn't have possession, <U>I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting.</U> Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Jewel,
If the team in possession wants a time out, just call it.
Don't overthink this mechanic. :)
mick


Exactly! I took the ORIGINAL post as one that was just looking for a quick true/false response...and my answer turned into a book-long discussion...

not that that's all bad, of course.

Dan_ref Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Does A1 need to be inbounds to call...err...to request TO?

I'm sure she does, if she has the ball. Without the ball, I'm not sure. Does anyone know a reference for requesting a time-out without the ball, while out of bounds?

More nits: why can't A1, holding the ball, be OOB when requesting TO?


Legal,if it's a throw-in.Anyone on Team A can.Also OK if ball is at disposal of Team A for a throw-in,too.
Rule 5-8-3(a)
Casebook play 5.8.3SitB or 5.8.3SitD(c).

Wow, I am in awe. I just can't think so logically. Is this another estrogen problem?

Not sure who you're in awe of here but I've been told by many coaches that I inspire awe....pssst, hey Chuck, that is what aweful means, aint it?


ChuckElias Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
I've been told by many coaches that I inspire awe....pssst, hey Chuck, that is what aweful means, aint it?
Sure, pardner, sure.

rainmaker Thu Oct 09, 2003 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If A1 doesn't have possession, <U>I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting.</U> Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Jewel,
If the team in possession wants a time out, just call it.
Don't overthink this mechanic. :)
mick


I suppose you're right. I'm used to the level of play where the coach says, "Time out?!? What for?!?! Lindsey, what the heck are you doing?!?!" Trying to be judicious about my response to the player who is committing a very stupid act.

Dan_ref Thu Oct 09, 2003 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
If A1 doesn't have possession, <U>I'd look to the coach for confirmation before granting.</U> Why in the world call a timeout because a non-possession player is falling out of bounds? If the timing becomse an issue, you can always say he called it in time, but you just hadn't blown the whistle yet.

Jewel,
If the team in possession wants a time out, just call it.
Don't overthink this mechanic. :)
mick


I suppose you're right. I'm used to the level of play where the coach says, "Time out?!? What for?!?! Lindsey, what the heck are you doing?!?!" Trying to be judicious about my response to the player who is committing a very stupid act.

:D

Don't worry about Lindsey, she's a tough little cookie!

rainmaker Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I suppose you're right. I'm used to the level of play where the coach says, "Time out?!? What for?!?! Lindsey, what the heck are you doing?!?!" Trying to be judicious about my response to the player who is committing a very stupid act.
Don't worry about Lindsey, she's a tough little cookie!

Okay, let's see.... I'm, uh... taking pity on the coach! Yea, that's it! The poor long-suffering coach who worked with the girls all week on requesting time-out when they were falling out of bounds--- with the ball!! And now Lindsey pulls this stunt... Augh!!! I think it's to the ref's advantage to give the coach the sympathetic raised eye-brow, so she knows she's still in charge, eh? Or, (south of North Dakota and Minnesota) ...still in charge, y'know?

BktBallRef Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Problem is, I can't see her.

Also, you obviously haven't been to a high school lately. [/B]
No....but I've been to a Holiday Inn Express! [/B][/QUOTE]

Hope the wifey doesn't find out!

Nevadaref Fri Oct 10, 2003 06:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Hey Juules!
OR at the disposal of a player from Team A for a free throw! :)


How does that fall in line with a player or team mate calling a TO while they are OOB-which was the nit being discussed? :confused: The one above is just a simple example of a player holding a live ball in bounds.Different nits completely.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 9th, 2003 at 04:33 AM]

That whooshing sound you heard was this one going over your head, JR. So I'll slow it down for ya. :)
We are returning from a TO to shoot free throws and Team A doesn't break their huddle as required after the first horn and is still at their bench after the second horn, so the official uses the resuming-play procedure and places the ball at the disposal of the free thrower by putting it down in the semi-circle and the proper official starts the ten second count. Now a smart player from Team A who is still OOB at his team's bench realizes that they are going to violate and requests a TO. No player holding the ball inbounds and the TO request comes from a player who is OOB.
Hence, my nit!


A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Oct 10, 2003 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
A1 can request a time out.

A1 can CALL a time-out.

There is no definition in Rule 4 for "call", "request", or "grant". So we'll have to use the dictionary definitions. The interesting one is definition 1b for the word "call" at http://www.m-w.com: to make a request or demand

Rule 2-7-6 says that the officials' general duties include "Granting time-out." The word "grants" is also used in 5-8-3. 5-8-3 is "Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out..."

So I'd say that a player or head coach "calling" time-out is, by definition, a "request", and the officials' duties are to "grant" that time-out CALLED by the player or head coach.

mick Fri Oct 10, 2003 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
...So I'd say that a player or head coach "calling" time-out is, by definition, a "request", and the <u>officials' duties are to "grant" that time-out</u> CALLED by the player or head coach.

:rolleyes:

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 10, 2003 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
[/B]
There is no definition in Rule 4 for "call", "request", or "grant". So we'll have to use the dictionary definitions. The interesting one is definition 1b for the word "call" at http://www.m-w.com: to make a request or demand

Rule 2-7-6 says that the officials' general duties include "Granting time-out." The word "grants" is also used in 5-8-3. 5-8-3 is "Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out..."

So I'd say that a player or head coach "calling" time-out is, by definition, a "request", and the officials' duties are to "grant" that time-out CALLED by the player or head coach.
[/B][/QUOTE]Right,Coach,we either grant,or do not grant,your request. It's that simple. The semantics don't really matter as long as everyone knows that it is not an automatic process if you try to "call" a TO.

ChuckElias Fri Oct 10, 2003 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
A1 can request a time out.
A1 can CALL a time-out.

There is no definition in Rule 4 for "call", "request", or "grant". So we'll have to use the dictionary definitions. The interesting one is definition 1b for the word "call" at http://www.m-w.com: to make a request or demand

Interestingly, Coach, the full entry for definition 1b is:
Quote:

to make a request or demand <call for an investigation>
Notice that the person isn't calling an investigation. He is calling for an investigation. So analogously, the coach may certainly call for a time-out. But he can't call it. I'm happy to say that I made this very point less than a week ago. http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...8&pagenumber=5

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 10, 2003 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
[/B]
Interestingly, Coach, the full entry for definition 1b is:
Quote:

to make a request or demand <call for an investigation>
Notice that the person isn't calling an investigation.
[/B][/QUOTE]If it was one of your calls,the coach shoulda had the right to call for an investigation!

ChuckElias Fri Oct 10, 2003 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
If it was one of your calls,the coach shoulda had the right to call for an investigation!
Just when I think you're beginning to like me. . .

ChuckElias Fri Oct 10, 2003 03:42pm

Coach, one last thing. If you honestly believe that the coach can call a time-out, then when he or she says, "Hey, that's a foul!!", do you also believe that the coach is calling a foul? Nuh-uh.

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 10, 2003 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
If it was one of your calls,the coach shoulda had the right to call for an investigation!
Just when I think you're beginning to like me. . .

http://www.uselessgraphics.com/cart96.gif


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1