The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 01:19pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,530
Travel, block, or nada?

Loose ball on the floor. A-1 secures the ball in his backcourt while standing up, and tries to move upcourt, but trips over B-2, lying prone in front of him. A-1 manages to get his non-pivot foot over B-2, and just as A-1 gets his pivot foot over B-2 and setting it down, he releases a successful pass to A-3.

*Travel on A-1?
*Blocking foul on B-2?
*Nothing, play it on?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 01:24pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,125
Show me a video.

Let's assume that B-2 is simply holding a spot on the floor. It's traveling if the pivot foot returns to the floor before the pass and is not if it doesn't.

What's confusing about that?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Loose ball on the floor. A-1 secures the ball in his backcourt while standing up, and tries to move upcourt, but trips over B-2, lying prone in front of him. A-1 manages to get his non-pivot foot over B-2, and just as A-1 gets his pivot foot over B-2 and setting it down, he releases a successful pass to A-3.

*Travel on A-1?
*Blocking foul on B-2?
*Nothing, play it on?
Or it happens so fast that you can have a travel or no travel. But if B2 is just on the floor and not doing anything to affect A1's movement then option 2 is not an option at all in HS.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 02:14pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,235
Sounds like a blocking foul on B2.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Or it happens so fast that you can have a travel or no travel. But if B2 is just on the floor and not doing anything to affect A1's movement then option 2 is not an option at all in HS.
Wait OP says he tripped over B2. B2 can not be on the ground and have LGP. There is contact that is affecting the play. This to me sounds like a block/trip.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamnegger View Post
Wait OP says he tripped over B2. B2 can not be on the ground and have LGP. There is contact that is affecting the play. This to me sounds like a block/trip.
LGP has to do with block charge calls. HS and NCAA treat players on the floor differently. Essentially every player is entitled to their space on court.

A trip is a deliberate act that in this scenario would be an intentional foul.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,326
Block in NCAAW (assuming A1 was affected by B2).

B2 is legal in FED, so the pivot foot actions determine travel or not.

(Edited to correct my original posting having the rulings reversed)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Thu Jan 04, 2018 at 08:20am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 02:34pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Block in HS (assuming A1 was affected by B2).

B2 is legal in NCAAW, so the pivot foot actions determine travel or not.
It's a block in NCAA-Men's. I have nothing in NFHS because I thought every player is entitled to their spot on the floor.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 02:35pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Loose ball on the floor. A-1 secures the ball in his backcourt while standing up, and tries to move upcourt, but trips over B-2, lying prone in front of him. A-1 manages to get his non-pivot foot over B-2, and just as A-1 gets his pivot foot over B-2 and setting it down, he releases a successful pass to A-3.

*Travel on A-1?
*Blocking foul on B-2?
*Nothing, play it on?
What would be the basis for a travel?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
What would be the basis for a travel?
Reread the OP. He lifted his pivot and put it down before releasing the pass. So unless there is a foul, it's a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 04:39pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
Reread the OP. He lifted his pivot and put it down before releasing the pass. So unless there is a foul, it's a travel.

That's unclear in the OP.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 06:36pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 15,537
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I thought every player is entitled to their spot on the floor.
2004-05 Casebook: 10.6.1 SITUATION E: B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Jan 03, 2018 at 06:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
That's unclear in the OP.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I thought it was clear but can see how you might read it otherwise...

Quote:
A-1 manages to get his non-pivot foot over B-2, and just as A-1 gets his pivot foot over B-2 and setting it down, he releases a successful pass to A-3.
I read that to say the pivot foot was down, just barely, then the pass was released.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 10:27pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,530
I appreciate the thoughts. This happened last night, and I went with option C, played it on.

My thought process: It could not be a travel (despite what Coach B wanted at that moment). The interpretation I understand is someone lying on the floor is not entitled to that spot, so any contact that causes what would be a travel would have to be a foul. However, since A-1 got a clean pass upcourt to a teammate, I felt it best to pass on the contact.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2018, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I appreciate the thoughts. This happened last night, and I went with option C, played it on.

My thought process: It could not be a travel (despite what Coach B wanted at that moment). The interpretation I understand is someone lying on the floor is not entitled to that spot, so any contact that causes what would be a travel would have to be a foul. However, since A-1 got a clean pass upcourt to a teammate, I felt it best to pass on the contact.
As you now know...that interpretation is incorrect for a HS game but correct for a college game.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block, charge, no call travel? Sharpshooternes Basketball 25 Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:08am
Quinnipiac/Marist (W)...Travel/Block/PC? (video) JetMetFan Basketball 46 Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:34am
You Decide - Block, Charge or Travel (Clip) xyrph Basketball 48 Sun Dec 22, 2013 07:51am
Minnesota/Wisconsin Block/charge and Out of bounds travel paulsonj72 Basketball 27 Sat Feb 16, 2013 01:26pm
Block/Charge or Travel BMA Basketball 11 Wed Aug 15, 2001 09:16am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1