The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Backcourt or Not

A1 has crossed the division line and now has frontcourt status. Unaware of A2 backcourt status, A1 passes the ball to A2 in the backcourt. While the ball is in flight, the ball is tipped by B1 in the frontcout and caught in the air in backcourt by A2. If the ball hits the floor prior to A2 touching, no backcourt. What about if the ball is caught before it hits the floor? If I understand team control, team A gas not lost team control.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref1990 View Post
A1 has crossed the division line and now has frontcourt status. Unaware of A2 backcourt status, A1 passes the ball to A2 in the backcourt. While the ball is in flight, the ball is tipped by B1 in the frontcout and caught in the air in backcourt by A2. If the ball hits the floor prior to A2 touching, no backcourt. What about if the ball is caught before it hits the floor? If I understand team control, team A gas not lost team control.
According to FED, this is a violation. Most disagree. See the 100s of other threads on this subject.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
According to FED, this is a violation. Most disagree. See the 100s of other threads on this subject.
"Most disagree" is probably an overstatement. I think it would be more accurate to say that most agree that this is a violation based on clear NFHS direction. However, most disagree with the logic used to arrive at that interpretation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
See the "straddling the division line" thread.
There is an interp from years ago that says it is a violation. "A's touch while standing in BC makes him simultaneously the last to touch in FC and the first to touch in BC..." words to that effect.

The rule does not say that. See the thread for everybody's thoughts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BACKCOURT OR NOT? OFISHE8 Basketball 8 Sun Dec 18, 2005 06:36pm
Was this backcourt?? dsimp8 Basketball 10 Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:20pm
Backcourt or not? assignmentmaker Basketball 38 Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:05pm
Backcourt or not jack48 Basketball 5 Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:59am
backcourt missinglink Basketball 13 Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1