The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
Ce

A1 is fouled attempting a 3 point shot. A1 is suppose to get 3 FT. U2 signals to table 3 shots then gets drawn into a conversation with coach. Administering officials give A1 2 shots. The 2nd shot is rebounded by Team A and they proceed to take 2 shots before Team A is whistled for a rebounding foul putting Team B in the bonus. Walking to the other end for 1 and 1 the officials are alerted that A1 was not awarded his 3rd shot.

A. Award A1 his merited FT (lane clear) and then return to other end for Team B 1 and 1

B. Disregard the foul (not intentional or flagrant) on Team A and put A1 on line for 3rd shot with lane occupied
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
A
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 295
This is one of five correctable errors in NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 01:11pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
You cannot disregard the foul because you have a correctable error.


So A is the only way to go.

Also, this is why when you have a foul that might be a 3 or a 2, not only the calling official has to be adamant about making sure you communicate that to the administering officials or crew what the foul situation is in the first place. Talking to the coach is very secondary.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
OK .. so 2-10-6 is only applicable if there are no shots and the team maintains possession?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
OK .. so 2-10-6 is only applicable if there are no shots and the team maintains possession?
What do missed shots have to do with the rule?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
OK .. so 2-10-6 is only applicable if there are no shots and the team maintains possession?
Not correct. The real issue is when is there a "change of possession."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not correct. The real issue is when is there a "change of possession."
The time limit for correcting a correctable error is:
2-10 ART. 2
In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

After a made basket, the ball is dead until at the disposal for the next throw in. So after a made basket, the error must be discovered before the next throw in begins. There can be a change in possession, as long as there is no dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
The time limit for correcting a correctable error is:
2-10 ART. 2
In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

After a made basket, the ball is dead until at the disposal for the next throw in. So after a made basket, the error must be discovered before the next throw in begins. There can be a change in possession, as long as there is no dead ball.
Yes, I know that. But how you correct the error can depend on change of possession
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Also, this is why when you have a foul that might be a 3 or a 2, not only the calling official has to be adamant about making sure you communicate that to the administering officials or crew what the foul situation is in the first place. Talking to the coach is very secondary.

Peace
I take some pride in my now-defunct officiating career that this was a non-negotiable with me whether doing 2- or 3-man crews. While we always tried to be efficient/quick with FT administration we always pre-gamed that all of us would indicate the number of free throws to be attempted prior to placing the ball at the disposal of the shooter.

The quote went something like "4 out of the 5 CE have to do with FT. Let's not have to worry about those 4 tonight."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1