The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
OK .. so 2-10-6 is only applicable if there are no shots and the team maintains possession?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
OK .. so 2-10-6 is only applicable if there are no shots and the team maintains possession?
What do missed shots have to do with the rule?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
OK .. so 2-10-6 is only applicable if there are no shots and the team maintains possession?
Not correct. The real issue is when is there a "change of possession."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not correct. The real issue is when is there a "change of possession."
The time limit for correcting a correctable error is:
2-10 ART. 2
In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

After a made basket, the ball is dead until at the disposal for the next throw in. So after a made basket, the error must be discovered before the next throw in begins. There can be a change in possession, as long as there is no dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
The time limit for correcting a correctable error is:
2-10 ART. 2
In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

After a made basket, the ball is dead until at the disposal for the next throw in. So after a made basket, the error must be discovered before the next throw in begins. There can be a change in possession, as long as there is no dead ball.
Yes, I know that. But how you correct the error can depend on change of possession
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,283
2-10-6 always applies to CE's. To break it down...

All CE's resume play at the POI when it was correctly recognized, except for when there is a change in possession and the CE requires free throws to be attempted.

With no change in possession, play resumes from the free throws.

With a change, shoot the free throws with no players along the lane, then you resume play at the POI, which in this case would be FT's by B.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
2-10-6 always applies to CE's. To break it down...

All CE's resume play at the POI when it was correctly recognized, except for when there is a change in possession and the CE requires free throws to be attempted.

With no change in possession, play resumes from the free throws.

With a change, shoot the free throws with no players along the lane, then you resume play at the POI, which in this case would be FT's by B.
And, so the issue in the OP is "does the foul by A constitute a change in possession?" Since a held ball can constitute a change (see 2.10.1F (?), I would say that a foul does, too.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2017, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,283
I'd hate to imagine the cluster that would result if it would not be considered a change in possession.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 21, 2017, 08:35am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
2-10-6 always applies to CE's. To break it down...

All CE's resume play at the POI when it was correctly recognized, except for when there is a change in possession and the CE requires free throws to be attempted.
Sorry if my brain is foggy this morning, but shouldn't the above say that all CE's resume play at the POI when it was correctly recognized, except for when there is NO change in possession and the CE requires FTs to be attempted?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 21, 2017, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,283
Yes, there should of been a "no" there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1