The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
When to call the intentional?

B1 steals the ball from A2. Passes the ball to B3 who has a clear layup. A2 who is pursuing B3 pushes A2 from behind with 2 hands. This play happened in my game tonite. I immediately blew the whistle for the intentional foul. Taking 2 points from B. Afterwords I thought I could've held the whistle till the layup was made and then blows the whistle. But the push was so blatant that I thought if I didn't called it right then there could be an altercation . Thoughts? Let them get the 2 points then blow? Or call immediately?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 12:48am
We don't rent pigs
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Call it immediately.
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.

Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,196
You don't have the option to wait until the player is shooting and then call the foul as if the player was in the shooting motion.

The only time such a delayed foul call is authorized is for an unsportsmanlike T.
Owner/Developer of
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 06:57am
Esteemed Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
Penalty ...

Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Call it immediately.
Agree. Two free throws for B3, personal foul for A2, team foul for Team A, and ball back to Team B at spot of foul is a pretty severe penalty.
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
Thanks men.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 04:29pm
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
I assume you mean he pushed B3. My only thought would be what was the status of the ball when the push occurred? Had B3 started his motion? If so, hit the whistle, score the goal, call the intentional, 2 shots and ball to B at spot closest to foul. If B3 was still dribbling, call it immediately.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good call here? intentional mutantducky Basketball 5 Mon Mar 29, 2010 07:33am
Duke/So IL intentional Foul call kdays78 Basketball 52 Mon Nov 24, 2008 09:04pm
holding vs intentional foul call ? OHBBREF Basketball 6 Tue Mar 27, 2007 04:54pm
Why won't they call the intentional? Nevadaref Basketball 66 Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:43pm
When to call intentional fous Back In The Saddle Basketball 9 Sat Jan 11, 2003 07:07pm

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48pm.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1