The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 06:38am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
From The List ...

To be out of bounds, a player must touch the floor, or some object, on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects, so inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds (another player, a photographer, a coach, an official, etc.), without gaining an advantage, is not considered an out of bounds violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 16, 2017 at 06:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 10:17am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
To be out of bounds, a player must touch the floor, or some object, on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects, so inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds (another player, a photographer, a coach, an official, etc.), is not considered an out of bounds violation.
So let's say a player with the ball is on the endline but is falling out of bounds. To stop himself from falling out of bounds he reaches out and pushes off of a cheerleader who is standing too close to the line. You have nothing? Perhaps an unsporting play? I don't see how it's a legal play, yet a cheerleader is a person not an object.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
So let's say a player with the ball is on the endline but is falling out of bounds. To stop himself from falling out of bounds he reaches out and pushes off of a cheerleader who is standing too close to the line. You have nothing? Perhaps an unsporting play? I don't see how it's a legal play, yet a cheerleader is a person not an object.
See 7.1.1A. the play you describe is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 10:30am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
See 7.1.1A. the play you describe is legal.
I was sure Billy was right (he usually is), but it just didn't seem that way. It was hard to respond like that (just like my response to you in the backcourt violation thread).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 10:55am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
The 7.1.1A ruling says, in part, "Inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not considered a violation."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 03:12pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
So let's say a player with the ball is on the endline but is falling out of bounds. To stop himself from falling out of bounds he reaches out and pushes off of a cheerleader who is standing too close to the line. You have nothing? Perhaps an unsporting play? I don't see how it's a legal play, yet a cheerleader is a person not an object.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
See 7.1.1A. the play you describe is legal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
The 7.1.1A ruling says, in part, "Inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not considered a violation."

According to NFHS CB 7.1.1A, the player would have committed an out-of-bounds violation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
I've had this play and always wondered about adjudication by strict rule:

A1 in BC dribbles near his coach, who is standing extremely close to the sideline. The coach gives verbal instructions and in doing so, places his hand on A1's shoulder. There was no defensive pressure at all.

A1 did not touch the coach intentionally/inadvertently but rather the coach touched him. No advantage for anyone was gained by the touch. I allowed play to simply continue but some nearby were giving me weird looks as if to say "Is that allowed?"
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 06:44pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Advantage ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
The 7.1.1A ruling...
Nice citation LRZ.

7.1.1 SITUATION A: A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline,
touches (a) player B1; (b) a photographer; (c) a coach; (d) an official, all of whom
are out of bounds. RULING: A1 is not out of bounds in (a), (b), (c) or (d). To be
out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary
line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently
touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not
considered a violation.


As a result of LRZ's post, I've made a change in my List (first change not created by rule change in several years, I'm always willing to improve the List):

To be out of bounds, a player must touch the floor, or some object, on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects, so inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds (another player, a photographer, a coach, an official, etc.), without gaining an advantage, is not considered an out of bounds violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 16, 2017 at 06:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 07:02pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nice citation LRZ.

7.1.1 SITUATION A: A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline,
touches (a) player B1; (b) a photographer; (c) a coach; (d) an official, all of whom
are out of bounds. RULING: A1 is not out of bounds in (a), (b), (c) or (d). To be
out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary
line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently
touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not
considered a violation.


As a result of LRZ's post, I've made a change in my List (first change not created by rule change in several years, I'm always willing to improve the List):

To be out of bounds, a player must touch the floor, or some object, on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects, so inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds (another player, a photographer, a coach, an official, etc.), without gaining an advantage, is not considered an out of bounds violation.
So in my example, where a player purposely touches a cheerleader out of bounds, we're calling it out of bounds?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2017, 10:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
So let's say a player with the ball is on the endline but is falling out of bounds. To stop himself from falling out of bounds he reaches out and pushes off of a cheerleader who is standing too close to the line. You have nothing? Perhaps an unsporting play? I don't see how it's a legal play, yet a cheerleader is a person not an object.
I have a future Hollywood actor or producer.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Question claude Football 7 Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:01am
NFHS Question benbret Football 5 Sun Oct 28, 2012 09:26pm
NFHS Question benbret Football 1 Sat Oct 27, 2012 09:59am
NFHS question #9 shipwreck Softball 6 Wed Aug 24, 2005 06:31pm
NFHS Question eevans Soccer 1 Mon Aug 13, 2001 09:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1