![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
A was not the last to touch the ball before the ball returned to the backcourt. The location of the touch is not important but the timing of the touch relative to the time the ball goes from frontcourt to backcourt is what is important.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I understand the rule but not that sentence...I don't like the simultaneous interp because the rule clearly says team has to be last AND first. that means one after the other to me. two touches.... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It is entirely possible to have a backcourt violation without every having the the offensive team touch the ball in the frontcourt (or, in a different play, backcourt). EXAMPLE: A1, in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass across the court to A2, who is also in the backcourt. However, the bounce during the pass was in the frontcourt. Team control...ball obtains frontcourt status...ball returns the backcourt when caught by A2 (or maybe a 2nd bounce occurred in the BC before A2 caught it). A1 was the last to touch BEFORE the ball returned to the backcourt. A2 was the first to touch AFTER it returned. Yet, neither touched it in the frontcourt. When the ball goes from frontcourt to the backcourt, you have to ask 3 things: 1. Was there team control inbounds at the time? 2. Was team A the last to touch it (anywhere) before it did so? 3. Was team A the next to touch it (anywhere) after it did so? Yes to all is a violation. No to any is legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Nov 15, 2017 at 08:52pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You have to be the first to touch the ball AFTER IT HAS BEEN in the backcourt. That's why the timing is more important than the location of the touch. For example: A1 is trapped in the frontcourt near the division line. A1 extends the ball over the backcourt in order to throw a bounce pass around the trap. The bounce pass touches the division line and then is caught be A2 who is standing in the frontcourt. This is a backcourt violation even though no one touched the ball while it was in the backcourt. However, A2 was the first to touch the ball AFTER IT HAD BEEN in the backcourt. TWEET! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Yeah, eloquent writing is not among my skill set.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Straddling the foul line | scarolinablue | Baseball | 16 | Fri May 10, 2013 01:10pm |
| "Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? | NoFussRef | Basketball | 16 | Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm |
| Division line | phansen | Basketball | 4 | Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm |
| What was (is) the purpose of the division line? | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 36 | Fri Jan 16, 2009 05:24pm |
| Straddling the division line. | mick | Basketball | 21 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 09:56pm |