The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Oct 19, 2017, 06:02am
Official Forum Member

Free throw lane violation on offense

Hello team, first time official, first time poster.

A1 is shooting the first of two free throws. A2 commits a lane violation by entering the lane before the ball is shot. Is the first FT called off and does team A still get to shoot the second FT?

Thanks, I'm a long time coach and I've seen this happen. Trying to get the correct call.
Old Thu Oct 19, 2017, 06:08am
Official Forum Member

Yes, the first free throw is waved off immediately once A2 violates.

Does not affect the second free throw at all.
Old Thu Oct 19, 2017, 09:52am
I got a Basketball Jones!

Quote:
Originally Posted by stifftails View Post

A1 is shooting the first of two free throws. A2 commits a lane violation by entering the lane before the ball is shot. Is the first FT called off and does team A still get to shoot the second FT?

Thanks, I'm a long time coach and I've seen this happen. Trying to get the correct call.
Welcome to the board. You can ask all the questions you want, and rely on good answers and insights from the crew here.

However, nothing compares to your own initiative in studying the rules and case book. Come here when you get stuck.

Have an open mind and try to forget all the stuff you thought you knew. The 'real' rules you will learn as an official are quite different. Expect to have your mind blown regularly as you delve deeper into the rules.

Good luck and come back often. These discussions are a great resource, especially for one who is transitioning from 'the dark side'.
Old Thu Oct 19, 2017, 10:23am
Do not give a damn!!

If Team A is shooting multiple FTs, then nothing happens other than they lose the right to finish that attempt or get the points.