![]() |
Free throw lane violation on offense
Hello team, first time official, first time poster.
A1 is shooting the first of two free throws. A2 commits a lane violation by entering the lane before the ball is shot. Is the first FT called off and does team A still get to shoot the second FT? Thanks, I'm a long time coach and I've seen this happen. Trying to get the correct call. |
Yes, the first free throw is waved off immediately once A2 violates.
Does not affect the second free throw at all. |
Quote:
However, nothing compares to your own initiative in studying the rules and case book. Come here when you get stuck. Have an open mind and try to forget all the stuff you thought you knew. The 'real' rules you will learn as an official are quite different. Expect to have your mind blown regularly as you delve deeper into the rules. Good luck and come back often. These discussions are a great resource, especially for one who is transitioning from 'the dark side'. |
If Team A is shooting multiple FTs, then nothing happens other than they lose the right to finish that attempt or get the points.
If the FT is the last FT or a FT where the ball will be live on the miss, then all that happens is they lose the FT attempt and give the ball to the opponent (Like a 1 and 1 bonus attempt or the last FT of a series). Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
Sometimes you'll see a player just sort of maybe step in a tiny bit because he's just shaking his legs out or perhaps he's just a little fidgety while standing in a lane space after he's been moving a lot. Please don't call that a violation if it's subtle and has no impact on anything. That wouldn't be in line with the intent of the rule. |
Way back when I was a JV basketball player, this was called against my team and the second free throw was called off. My coach was lucky to not get a T for arguing it, and the arguments continued a few games down the line when we had the same referee. Hopefully he sees this thread so he finally knows what the call is.
|
Thanks for all the feedback.
James, that was the case with me also. That's why I posted this because nothing in the rules books backs up the ref taking away that second free throw. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10pm. |