The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball Lodges (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103004-ball-lodges.html)

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 11, 2017 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1009947)
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)

I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 11, 2017 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1009961)
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.

I'll go with that.

crosscountry55 Wed Oct 11, 2017 03:02pm

Excellent point. It says, "live ball," not "try."

I stand corrected as well.

Nevadaref Wed Oct 11, 2017 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1009961)
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.

I agree.

Several years ago I had a team in its backcourt trying to break a press. A1 attempted a crosscourt pass to A2 along the end line. Of course, the nearly horizontal pass wedged in the space between the ring and backboard. I called an AP throw-in.

LeeBallanfant Wed Oct 11, 2017 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1009927)
More officials ..more debates..LOL

Rulings on resuming play when the ball lodges between the rim and backboard:

1) On a shot?

2) On a Throw In ?

3) On a Free Throw (Last one)?

Thanks!

an additional one
Last Shot of a Technical Foul

so cal lurker Wed Oct 11, 2017 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1009964)
I'll go with that.

Well there went a great trivia question . . .

BryanV21 Wed Oct 11, 2017 06:44pm

I got one...

A1 is dribbling in his backcourt towards Team B's basket. A1 stops dribbling and "shoots" at B's basket, but the ball gets lodged between the rim and backboard. AP or double dribble?

I'm going to guess "double dribble"

Valley Man Wed Oct 11, 2017 07:58pm

I thought so!

As for the other .. chicken before the egg kinda crap .. I am going with AP not double dribble

bucky Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1009979)
I got one...

A1 is dribbling in his backcourt towards Team B's basket. A1 stops dribbling and "shoots" at B's basket, but the ball gets lodged between the rim and backboard. AP or double dribble?

I'm going to guess "double dribble"

Not double dribble as A1 has not touched the ball after it hit the rim/backboard.

BryanV21 Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1009984)
Not double dribble as A1 has not touched the ball after it hit the rim/backboard.

Why would A1 have to touch the ball again for a double dribble? He dribbled, stopped, and threw it off his opponent's backboard. Throwing it off your opponent's backboard is the same as pushing it to the floor. So do you not call "normal" double dribbles until the dribbler touches the ball after dribbling a second time?

bucky Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 1009968)
an additional one
Last Shot of a Technical Foul

Nothing. Offended team retains throw-in. A/P not used. Rule 6 section 4 art 3d.

bucky Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1009985)
Why would A1 have to touch the ball again for a double dribble? He dribbled, stopped, and threw it off his opponent's backboard. Throwing it off your opponent's backboard is the same as pushing it to the floor. So do you not call "normal" double dribbles until the dribbler touches the ball after dribbling a second time?

Correct. See NF 2016-17 case 9.5 sit A. Presuming it did not change for this year.

BryanV21 Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1009987)
Correct. See case 9.5 sit A.

I don't recall seeing or hearing about the part where A1 needs to be the first to touch the ball after it hits the backboard or official. Which makes my question moot.

Thanks

Camron Rust Thu Oct 12, 2017 02:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1009988)
I don't recall seeing or hearing about the part where A1 needs to be the first to touch the ball after it hits the backboard or official. Which makes my question moot.

Thanks

The double dribble actually occurs at the time of the release. It is just that you can't know whether it is a dribble or a pass until it is again touched by either A1 or another player.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 12, 2017 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1009996)
The double dribbler actually occurs at the time of the release. It is just that you can't know whether it is a dribbler or a pass until it is again touched by either A1 or another player.

(Assuming this does become a double dribble) -- So is the throw-in spot where A1 initially released the ball, or where A1 subsequently touches the ball?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1