The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball Lodges (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103004-ball-lodges.html)

The_Rookie Wed Oct 11, 2017 07:44am

Ball Lodges
 
More officials ..more debates..LOL

Rulings on resuming play when the ball lodges between the rim and backboard:

1) On a shot?

2) On a Throw In ?

3) On a Free Throw (Last one)?

Thanks!

Smitty Wed Oct 11, 2017 07:47am

You're not a rookie anymore with over 500 posts, so you should know the answer to all of these - there's no ambiguity. Take a guess at least.

crosscountry55 Wed Oct 11, 2017 08:22am

Normally I'm happy to just provide answers, but it's test-taking season, so I'm leery of the OP's motive. These are not hard questions, so will leave it to the OP to look up.

I will say that I never thought I'd see #3 happen. Until it did. Last year. The strangest things sometimes happen on basketball courts.

The_Rookie Wed Oct 11, 2017 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1009931)
Normally I'm happy to just provide answers, but it's test-taking season, so I'm leery of the OP's motive. These are not hard questions, so will leave it to the OP to look up.

I will say that I never thought I'd see #3 happen. Until it did. Last year. The strangest things sometimes happen on basketball courts.

To clarify my motives,

#1 AP

#2 Throw in Violation

#3 AP


I had a 29 year Vet tell a coach that #3 was a violation and ball goes to B. AP not relevant!

I placed it out here to get confirmation that I know what I am talking about and not to believe everything others may profess:p

A lesson in life I learned sometimes those with the biggest mouth have the least amount of accurate information:)

crosscountry55 Wed Oct 11, 2017 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1009932)
I had a 29 year Vet tell a coach that #3 was a violation and ball goes to B. AP not relevant!

I still read through the rule and case books cover-to-cover at least once per year. It gets more and more boring each time, but I do it anyway.

This is why.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1009932)
To clarify my motives,

#1 AP

#2 Throw in Violation

#3 AP

Correct on all three

HokiePaul Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:19am

for #3, just to confirm what I'm almost certain on:

If you have a delayed violation on the FT and the ball lodges, it is treated just like any other miss and another FT is awarded.

crosscountry55 Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 1009937)
for #3, just to confirm what I'm almost certain on:

If you have a delayed violation on the FT and the ball lodges, it is treated just like any other miss and another FT is awarded.

Correct IMO. I don't believe there's a case play on this but that might be a good suggestion as one for the NFHS to adopt.

Logically, the reason you go AP on a lodged try (FG or FT) is because both teams are afforded no opportunity to rebound the miss. In a delayed violation scenario, the ball becomes dead when the FT ends (ball lodges) and you proceed by penalizing the violation (substitute FT).

bucky Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:20am

How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.:eek:

bob jenkins Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1009942)
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.:eek:

Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)

crosscountry55 Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1009942)
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.:eek:

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1009947)
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)

And A gets a fresh ten seconds! Talk about a lucky break.

Valley Man Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1009942)
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.:eek:

Isn't that an AP also? Rules don't use the word shot/shoots. (6-4-3 d)

bob jenkins Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1009952)
Isn't that an AP also? Rules don't use the word shot/shoots. (6-4-3 d)

Find the rule on when the AP is used when "neither TC, not a violation, nor end of period in involved". Are all those applicable?

so cal lurker Wed Oct 11, 2017 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1009947)
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)

Wow--that is so not intuitive!

So has anyone--in the history of the game--seen #2 from the OP?

crosscountry55 Wed Oct 11, 2017 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 1009958)
Wow--that is so not intuitive!

So has anyone--in the history of the game--seen #2 from the OP?

It is definitely counterintuitive that an attempt at the wrong basket is not a try for goal, but that's the rule. Came from behind the arc? Two points. A1 ended a dribble, "shot," and the ball hit the opponent's backboard? Illegal dribble violation.

A thorough knowledge of the definitions in Rule 4 and their associated case plays are important in situations like this.

As for #2, I haven't seen it, but I always thought I'd see it before I ever saw #3. Wrong! I can envision an alley-oop throw-in from the sideline getting lodged. It'll happen someday and I'll be ready with the call. Bonus points for anyone who can find a video of this happening.

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 11, 2017 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1009947)
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)

I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 11, 2017 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1009961)
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.

I'll go with that.

crosscountry55 Wed Oct 11, 2017 03:02pm

Excellent point. It says, "live ball," not "try."

I stand corrected as well.

Nevadaref Wed Oct 11, 2017 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1009961)
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.

I agree.

Several years ago I had a team in its backcourt trying to break a press. A1 attempted a crosscourt pass to A2 along the end line. Of course, the nearly horizontal pass wedged in the space between the ring and backboard. I called an AP throw-in.

LeeBallanfant Wed Oct 11, 2017 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1009927)
More officials ..more debates..LOL

Rulings on resuming play when the ball lodges between the rim and backboard:

1) On a shot?

2) On a Throw In ?

3) On a Free Throw (Last one)?

Thanks!

an additional one
Last Shot of a Technical Foul

so cal lurker Wed Oct 11, 2017 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1009964)
I'll go with that.

Well there went a great trivia question . . .

BryanV21 Wed Oct 11, 2017 06:44pm

I got one...

A1 is dribbling in his backcourt towards Team B's basket. A1 stops dribbling and "shoots" at B's basket, but the ball gets lodged between the rim and backboard. AP or double dribble?

I'm going to guess "double dribble"

Valley Man Wed Oct 11, 2017 07:58pm

I thought so!

As for the other .. chicken before the egg kinda crap .. I am going with AP not double dribble

bucky Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1009979)
I got one...

A1 is dribbling in his backcourt towards Team B's basket. A1 stops dribbling and "shoots" at B's basket, but the ball gets lodged between the rim and backboard. AP or double dribble?

I'm going to guess "double dribble"

Not double dribble as A1 has not touched the ball after it hit the rim/backboard.

BryanV21 Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1009984)
Not double dribble as A1 has not touched the ball after it hit the rim/backboard.

Why would A1 have to touch the ball again for a double dribble? He dribbled, stopped, and threw it off his opponent's backboard. Throwing it off your opponent's backboard is the same as pushing it to the floor. So do you not call "normal" double dribbles until the dribbler touches the ball after dribbling a second time?

bucky Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 1009968)
an additional one
Last Shot of a Technical Foul

Nothing. Offended team retains throw-in. A/P not used. Rule 6 section 4 art 3d.

bucky Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1009985)
Why would A1 have to touch the ball again for a double dribble? He dribbled, stopped, and threw it off his opponent's backboard. Throwing it off your opponent's backboard is the same as pushing it to the floor. So do you not call "normal" double dribbles until the dribbler touches the ball after dribbling a second time?

Correct. See NF 2016-17 case 9.5 sit A. Presuming it did not change for this year.

BryanV21 Wed Oct 11, 2017 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1009987)
Correct. See case 9.5 sit A.

I don't recall seeing or hearing about the part where A1 needs to be the first to touch the ball after it hits the backboard or official. Which makes my question moot.

Thanks

Camron Rust Thu Oct 12, 2017 02:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1009988)
I don't recall seeing or hearing about the part where A1 needs to be the first to touch the ball after it hits the backboard or official. Which makes my question moot.

Thanks

The double dribble actually occurs at the time of the release. It is just that you can't know whether it is a dribble or a pass until it is again touched by either A1 or another player.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 12, 2017 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1009996)
The double dribbler actually occurs at the time of the release. It is just that you can't know whether it is a dribbler or a pass until it is again touched by either A1 or another player.

(Assuming this does become a double dribble) -- So is the throw-in spot where A1 initially released the ball, or where A1 subsequently touches the ball?

Camron Rust Thu Oct 12, 2017 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010002)
(Assuming this does become a double dribble) -- So is the throw-in spot where A1 initially released the ball, or where A1 subsequently touches the ball?

Or could it be where the "dribble" itself occurred (backboard).

I believe it would be where the ball was released. But, for all practical purposes, it will not matter much. The spot will be in the backcourt for the team getting the ball. Some spots might be a little more advantageous than others but unless we're talking about it being in the corner vs the lane line vs the 28' mark, I'm not going to worry about that one.

BryanV21 Thu Oct 12, 2017 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010002)
(Assuming this does become a double dribble) -- So is the throw-in spot where A1 initially released the ball, or where A1 subsequently touches the ball?

The ball would be inbounded from the spot closest to where the violation occurred. In this case, the violation occurred when the player touched the ball.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

deecee Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:06pm

I'll save myself the headache if this ever happens in a game and go with the AP. I'm sure with the exception of a few people on this board no one else will bat an eyelash.

bucky Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1010017)
The ball would be inbounded from the spot closest to where the violation occurred. In this case, the violation occurred when the player touched the ball.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

As a side note meant only as a comment - Throw-in violations can occur a long way from the inbounder and the resulting throw-in takes place at the original throw-in spot.

bucky Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1009988)
I don't recall seeing or hearing about the part where A1 needs to be the first to touch the ball after it hits the backboard or official. Which makes my question moot.

Thanks

Also case 4.15.4 sit c

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 12, 2017 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1010030)
Throw-in violations can occur a long way from the inbounder and the resulting throw-in takes place at the original throw-in spot.

The two clauses of your sentence are contradictory.

After a violation, the ball is put back in play with a throw-in at a spot closest to where the violation occurred. So if the violation occurs a long way from the inbounder, why would the resulting throw-in take place at the original throw-in spot?

Raymond Thu Oct 12, 2017 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1010036)
The two clauses of your sentence are contradictory.

After a violation, the ball is put back in play with a throw-in at a spot closest to where the violation occurred. So if the violation occurs a long way from the inbounder, why would the resulting throw-in take place at the original throw-in spot?

A ball thrown directly OOB without touching any player on the court.

bucky Thu Oct 12, 2017 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1010036)
The two clauses of your sentence are contradictory.

After a violation, the ball is put back in play with a throw-in at a spot closest to where the violation occurred. So if the violation occurs a long way from the inbounder, why would the resulting throw-in take place at the original throw-in spot?

Consider an inbounder throwing the ball a great distance that enters the hoop. That is a violation and the ensuing throw-in will be at the original throw-in spot.

bucky Thu Oct 12, 2017 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010037)
A ball thrown directly OOB without touching any player on the court.

Yes, this too. It is really splitting hairs because it is technically a throw-in violation and not necessarily an out of bounds violation. The act/action just takes place far away.

so cal lurker Thu Oct 12, 2017 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010037)
A ball thrown directly OOB without touching any player on the court.

The violation does not occur where the ball goes OOB, as the violation is not for throwing it OOB. It is for not throwing it onto the court--which occurred at the spot of the throw.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 12, 2017 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1010017)
The ball would be inbounded from the spot closest to where the violation occurred. In this case, the violation occurred when the player touched the ball.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

What is the violation for and what is the definition of a dribble? You might have a different answer if you go with those.

Raymond Fri Oct 13, 2017 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 1010044)
The violation does not occur where the ball goes OOB, as the violation is not for throwing it OOB. It is for not throwing it onto the court--which occurred at the spot of the throw.

To fans and players and coaches, the violation occurred where the ball went OOB. That is what everybody sees with their eyes. It is not a violation until the ball goes OOB. And then we bring it back to where the throw-in originated.

Scrapper1 Fri Oct 13, 2017 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1010038)
Consider an inbounder throwing the ball a great distance that enters the hoop. That is a violation and the ensuing throw-in will be at the original throw-in spot.

That is a violation. But WHAT is the violation? Where does the violation occur?

Scrapper1 Fri Oct 13, 2017 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010050)
To fans and players and coaches, the violation occurred where the ball went OOB. That is what everybody sees with their eyes. It is not a violation until the ball goes OOB. And then we bring it back to where the throw-in originated.

But it's not an OOB violation. WHAT is the actual violation?

We all know how much the fans know about the rules. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1