The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2017, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
It's a correct interpretation/end result IMO, though as usual the case play wording could be better. The TI ended when the ball was legally touched, so you can't really say "Team A is in control during this throw in" in defense of your ruling. Something along the lines of, "a loose ball remains in control of the team that last had player control" would have at least been closer to the truth.

Without having my rule book in front of me, I think the definition of team control is a little wanting in that gray area between when the TI ends and player control is established inbounds (when such a gap occurs).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2017, 04:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
It's a correct interpretation/end result IMO, though as usual the case play wording could be better. The TI ended when the ball was legally touched, so you can't really say "Team A is in control during this throw in" in defense of your ruling. Something along the lines of, "a loose ball remains in control of the team that last had player control" would have at least been closer to the truth.

Without having my rule book in front of me, I think the definition of team control is a little wanting in that gray area between when the TI ends and player control is established inbounds (when such a gap occurs).
Not unclear at all. Spelled out perfectly in 4-19-7.
"...or by a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2017, 04:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Not unclear at all. Spelled out perfectly in 4-19-7.

"...or by a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds."


Well there you go! Thanks Nevada. So it's inaccurate to say that team control exists during the the throw in in defense of this ruling, but it IS accurate to say that a team control foul occurs when a foul is committed by a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds."


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS 2017-18 Rules Changes SC Official Basketball 275 Wed Nov 08, 2017 03:37pm
Locating copy nfhs volleyball test 2017-18 doton12 Volleyball 0 Sat Jul 29, 2017 07:25am
2017-18 NFHS Comments, POE's SC Official Basketball 19 Mon Jun 05, 2017 04:53pm
Re-entry (NFHS 2017 Softball Rules) wdiveley0514 Softball 5 Wed Apr 05, 2017 07:43am
2017 NFHS Softball Rule Changes Stat-Man Softball 7 Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1