The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2017, 12:20pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
2017-18 IAABO Exam Questions ...

I have been asked to submit ten questions to IAABO to be used on the 2017-18 Applicant Exam, and/or the 2017-18 Refresher Exam. The questions are to be based on 2016-17, and 2017-18 NFHS rule changes, and Points of Emphasis. Here's what I came up with. Corrections, and/or comments would be appreciated. Especially corrections. I would hate to get my own test questions wrong. That would be very embarrassing.

1) Cheerleaders are located along the endline. The official informs the cheerleaders that they may not stand in the restricted area along the endline between the free throw lane lines extended. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 1-20)

2) Cheerleaders attempt to come onto the playing court during a thirty second time out. The official informs the cheerleaders that they must remain outside of the playing area during a thirty second or less timeout during the game. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 1-20)

3) The timekeeper sounds a warning signal to end the twenty seconds permitted for replacing a disqualified or injured player, or for a player directed to leave the game. The official believes this to be the correct procedure. Is the official correct? No (Rule 2-12-5)

4) Players on Team A are wearing white jerseys and red shorts. Several players on Team A are wearing white wrist bands, headbands, leg sleeves, and arm sleeves. Player A1 is wearing red compression shorts that extend below the uniform shorts. The official allows this because A1’s compression shorts are the same color as the uniform shorts. Is the official correct? No (Rule 3-5-3)

5) Players on Team A are wearing blue jerseys and blue shorts. Several players on Team A are wearing white wrist bands, headbands, leg sleeves, and arm sleeves. Player A2 is wearing a white undershirt under his uniform jersey. The official allows this because A2’s undershirt is the same color as the equipment worn by the other Team A players. Is the official correct? No (Rule 3-5-6)

6) Player A1 releases a free throw attempt. B1, occupying a marked free throw lane line space, crosses the free throw line after the release and enters the free throw semicircle before the ball touches the ring, the backboard, or until the free throw ends. B1 does not contact A1. A1’s free throw attempt bounces off the ring and is unsuccessful. After signaling a delayed free throw violation with an extended fist, the official calls a free throw violation on B1 and allows A1 a substitute free throw attempt. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 9-1-3h)

7) Team A has possession of the ball in their frontcourt. The head coach of Team A requests a sixty second timeout while the ball is in the air as A1 is passing the ball to A2. The official grants the timeout request while the ball is in the air because the ball is in team control of Team A. Is the official correct? No (2016-17 NFHS Basketball Points of Emphasis, Rule 5-8-3a)

8) Team A has possession of the ball in their frontcourt. Defensive post player B1 is using a stationary arm bar to hold his position as offensive post player A1 positions himself on the free throw lane line block. As guard A2 attempts to pass the ball to post player A1, B1 extends his arm bar and displaces A1 from his position on the block. The official charges B1 with a pushing foul. Is the official correct? Yes (2016-17 NFHS Basketball Points of Emphasis, Rule 10-7-1)

9) The Team A head coach shows frustration with what he considers a missed travel call. He gestures with a travel signal, and tells the nearest official that he missed the call. Previous to this, there was not a hint of misconduct by the Team A head coach. The official judges that this misconduct is not a major problem, but needs to be dealt with. The official stops play and gives the Team A head coach an official warning for misconduct, which is recorded in the scorebook. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 10-5, Rule 4-48)

10) The head coach of Team A is calling out plays to his team while he is standing on the sideline, two feet inside the end line. The official charges Team A head coach with a technical foul for standing outside the fourteen foot designated coaching box. Is the official correct? No (Rule 10-6-1, Rule 1-13)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jun 01, 2017 at 05:14pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 iaabo exam upfrontcs Basketball 0 Fri Jan 01, 2016 09:44am
IAABO Refresher Exam Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 33 Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:08pm
IAABO exam Zebra06 Basketball 2 Fri Aug 15, 2008 07:41pm
IAABO Exam ref18 Basketball 19 Sun Nov 25, 2007 09:54pm
IAABO mechanics exam Q 31 oc Basketball 4 Sun Nov 09, 2003 09:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1