The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2017, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
I'm the only person here who didn't get to see the game. Jeff can you post it all or tell me where I can watch it? Don't tell me who won...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2017, 02:09pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial View Post
So between the real job and ample amounts of reading, I'm still not seeing much as far as correct/incorrect ruling on the personal foul followed by the F1.

While I was watching the game, that ruling just didn't seem right. Can someone help me out?

We all know what they called and how it was administered.

My questions - After the personal foul, the ball becomes dead, at that moment, any contact that is illegal and excessive would have to become a dead ball contact technical foul. Is that correct or incorrect? If administered as a personal foul and then a dead ball contact, they would shoot the personal foul first (if in bonus), then the dead ball contact, with the ball being awarded at the division line for a throw in?

Sorry if it has already been discussed in this thread, I just haven't found it yet.

Thanks guys, it's been a pleasure this year!
Some a$$hole brought it up in this thread and on Facebook. He's probably just a HS referee.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
8:02 of the 2nd half. I believe the double foul should have been a false double foul with the second foul being a dead ball contact technical foul.

I just listened to the audio of Verne Harris explaining the call to the television commentators. He said there was a foul on #2 White FOLLOWED by an F1 on Karnowski. He didn't say it was a double foul. He said there was one foul followed by another foul.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
16:31, double whistle, lead calls the foul across the court.
__________________
"He who says he can and he who says he can't are both usually correct." - Confucius
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefRich View Post
16:31, double whistle, lead calls the foul across the court.
If this is the foul on Berry of UNC, it was in transition. At the NCAAM level the Lead is extremely aggressive in such situations. Given that the C had a whistle, I would have let him take it, but perhaps the instruction is to force more switches.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If this is the foul on Berry of UNC, it was in transition. At the NCAAM level the Lead is extremely aggressive in such situations. Given that the C had a whistle, I would have let him take it, but perhaps the instruction is to force more switches.
As it was in transition, that was my question, but he seemed to go a long way to get that call.
__________________
"He who says he can and he who says he can't are both usually correct." - Confucius
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
10:13 left
Is Meeks correct that Tillie traveled after the defensive rebound?

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Apr 03, 2017 at 10:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
10:13 left

Is Meeks correct that Tillet traveled after the defensive rebound?

Yes. But it took me ten replays to come to that conclusion. So I'm plenty ok with that no call.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 10:14pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
That is not a FF1, or even a foul on Berry
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
8:02, the first foul and then the FF1. 21 fouls called in the second half with 8:02 left on the clock.
__________________
"He who says he can and he who says he can't are both usually correct." - Confucius

Last edited by RefRich; Mon Apr 03, 2017 at 10:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
8:02 left 2nd half
Call on the floor is a foul against Berry.
Video review is a FF1 on Karnowski.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
8:02 left 2nd half

Call on the floor is a foul against Berry.

Video review is a FF1 on Karnowski.


Called it as s DPF, got that. But Gonzaga had team control going in. So that tells me that in NCAAM, when one part is of greater severity, the offended team shoots last and gets the ball. Do I have that right?

In NFHS, as I was reminded a few weeks ago, there are no FTs and you resume with POI, regardless if one part of the DPF was more severe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
802 in 2nd half...in a tussle for a deflected pass, Berry contacts arm of Karnov, foul whistled, then on follow thru motion Karnov contacts neck of Berry--vid review leads to F1----was it defensible to interpret it as 'dead ball' foul ?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2017, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
623 2nd half...was it really necessary to have vid review on the last second shot clock made basket by carolina?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2017, 09:53am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
10:13 left
Is Meeks correct that Tillie traveled after the defensive rebound?


Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2017, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
10:13 left
Is Meeks correct that Tillie traveled after the defensive rebound?
He got ball. Jumped off floor, then started dribble. Violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Tourn - Thursday March 22 Video Requests JRutledge Basketball 42 Fri Mar 24, 2017 04:25pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Saturday March 18 JRutledge Basketball 55 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:42am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Sunday March 19 JRutledge Basketball 51 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:40am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Friday March 17 JRutledge Basketball 15 Mon Mar 20, 2017 04:03pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Thursday March 16 Nevadaref Basketball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2017 06:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1