The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2017, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 31
Florida-South Carolina

Should've posted this in here. Lol. 50.4 left 2nd half South Carolina, inbound baseball pass. At what point Did the South Carolina player have possession to start counting his steps. It looked like he traveled while trying to slow down underneath the basket? Or was it a great no call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2017, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 31
North Carolina-Kentucky

About 3 seconds left in the first half, the last drive to the bucket by Kentucky.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2017, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
UNC v Kentucky
14:30 in the 2nd half.
UNC player at the top of the key.
Did he travel or was the ball knocked out by the defender?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2017, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
9:00 exactly left in second half of UNC v Kentucky.
Lead correctly calls goaltending. I was surprised that the call didn't come from the C, but he may have had a whistle too. Hard to see as he was almost out of the frame.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2017, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Can't believe that they aren't using the monitor to check the clock following UNC's last basket. Rulewise there is a huge difference between 0.3 and 0.4 remaining.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2017, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Can't believe that they aren't using the monitor to check the clock following UNC's last basket. Rulewise there is a huge difference between 0.3 and 0.4 remaining.
I agree. The ball was clear of the net with 0.5 even. That is a huge error that cost UK the chance at a shot.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2017, 06:57pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I agree. The ball was clear of the net with 0.5 even. That is a huge error that cost UK the chance at a shot.
Concur. I kept waiting for them to announce a correction but it never happened. Initially I thought Higgins was blowing it dead to correct the clock, the official covering the shot had clearly signaled it was a 2 and was not the official to initiate a review of that.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2017, 12:40am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
9:00 exactly left in second half of UNC v Kentucky.
Lead correctly calls goaltending. I was surprised that the call didn't come from the C, but he may have had a whistle too. Hard to see as he was almost out of the frame.


Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2017, 12:39am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
UNC v Kentucky
14:30 in the 2nd half.
UNC player at the top of the key.
Did he travel or was the ball knocked out by the defender?


Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2017, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post


Peace
Ball does get knocked away by defender ... once it hits the floor. And yes, that does matter. Sure, Jackson would have recovered it, thus making it a travel (dribble started with pivot foot off the floor), but Monk saved him from that by poking the ball away. Good patient whistle in no-calling this.

The dropping of the ball is nothing. It's what happens next.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2017, 06:47pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Ball does get knocked away by defender ... once it hits the floor. And yes, that does matter. Sure, Jackson would have recovered it, thus making it a travel (dribble started with pivot foot off the floor), but Monk saved him from that by poking the ball away. Good patient whistle in no-calling this.

The dropping of the ball is nothing. It's what happens next.
I do not see the defender touching the ball. I see the NC player moving the ball on his own to avoid the defender. I think that is a travel. Again, the angle was not the best as the official's angle, but I have seen this play just in this tournament not called a violation, which actually surprises me as it is clearly a violation of the rules to jump up and then drop it when you think it will be blocked, which is a start of a dribble.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2017, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I do not see the defender touching the ball. I see the NC player moving the ball on his own to avoid the defender. I think that is a travel. Again, the angle was not the best as the official's angle, but I have seen this play just in this tournament not called a violation, which actually surprises me as it is clearly a violation of the rules to jump up and then drop it when you think it will be blocked, which is a start of a dribble.
You misread my post. I did not say the defender knocked the ball out of the shooter's hands. He didn't. No additional angle necessary. Not in dispute. Shooter drops it of his own volition and without assistance.

BUT the defender IS the first to touch it after the drop, which negates it being a dribble. (That part could require a better angle, but Monk from UK touching it first is how I'm seeing it. And apparently the officials too ... unless they were just caught off guard by the goofy play, which happens to all of us). Not until the offensive player touches the ball again after the drop is this technically "a dribble."

And if that never happened, this is nothing, and perhaps the reason there was no whistle.

Until the offensive player recovers that ball, it's just a horrible "pass," or nothing.

Last edited by ODog; Mon Mar 27, 2017 at 08:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 28, 2017, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Ball does get knocked away by defender ... once it hits the floor. And yes, that does matter. Sure, Jackson would have recovered it, thus making it a travel (dribble started with pivot foot off the floor), but Monk saved him from that by poking the ball away. Good patient whistle in no-calling this.

The dropping of the ball is nothing. It's what happens next.
Yes, player jumped in the air and released ball to floor..all legal. Then, defender touches ball first. No travel on all that however.....looks like a technical travel when he initially receives the pass.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 28, 2017, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Yes, player jumped in the air and released ball to floor..all legal. Then, defender touches ball first. No travel on all that however.....looks like a technical travel when he initially receives the pass.
The problem lies in the definition of dribble, which begins with the release of the ball. That is what a couple of posters are referring to as by rule. By the language of the rule, if the ball was released as a dribble, he illegally began a dribble after lifting his pivot foot and what comes after doesn't change that.

Quote:
Section 13. Dribble
Art. 1. A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats,
pushes or taps the ball to the playing court once or several times.
Art. 2. The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing, tapping or batting
the ball to the playing court.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2017, 12:47am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuelrider View Post
About 3 seconds left in the first half, the last drive to the bucket by Kentucky.


Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Saturday March 18 (Remix) JRutledge Basketball 11 Sun Mar 26, 2017 05:25pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Saturday March 18 JRutledge Basketball 55 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:42am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Sunday March 19 JRutledge Basketball 51 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:40am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Friday March 17 JRutledge Basketball 15 Mon Mar 20, 2017 04:03pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Thursday March 16 Nevadaref Basketball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2017 06:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1