The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Tournament (Elite 8 Games) Video Requests - Saturday and Sunday (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102475-ncaa-tournament-elite-8-games-video-requests-saturday-sunday.html)

OKREF Sun Mar 26, 2017 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1003481)
SC/Fla, 10:00 first half. Is this a travel?

Yes, ends dribble with right foot on floor, picks it up and puts it down before shooting or passing

bucky Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003558)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/cKpsAJlJYw0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


I am going to disagree with all of you. For one the rule states that the goal is not scored until the ball remains in or passes through the basket. Well the ball does not really go through the basket until 0.3.

There is also no evidence they did not look at this. They have an alternate as well and if there was an issue he can to my knowledge let the crew now. There appeared to be a timeout or some stoppage for some time so I am sure they looked at this. But they did appear to get it right based on the pure rule and we know we must prove that we know the exact rule and apply it to the letter. I am not convinced that 0.4 would have been accurate considering that the ball appears to still be in the net. In other words they would be splitting hairs and IMO making a judgment that would be tight at best. They would get killed if they reviewed this later and Kentucky had made a big basket later. That is an easy decision sitting here at a computer screen or on a couch to make such a decision IMO. But hey, what do I know, just giving an opinion that means nothing in the end right?

Peace

I agree with Jrut. I froze/play/froze play the video and I thought that the ball was touching the net with .6, .5, and .4 seconds. When the ball was no longer in contact with the net, it read .3. I am actually surprised at how accurately they stopped the clock at .3. Probably 100 other clock operators would have stopped it at .2 or less.

AremRed Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1003571)
I am actually surprised at how accurately they stopped the clock at .3. Probably 100 other clock operators would have stopped it at .2 or less.

I think the clock guy got lucky.

JRutledge Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003524)
UNC v Kentucky
14:30 in the 2nd half.
UNC player at the top of the key.
Did he travel or was the ball knocked out by the defender?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/jRog0jqCMQc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003526)
9:00 exactly left in second half of UNC v Kentucky.
Lead correctly calls goaltending. I was surprised that the call didn't come from the C, but he may have had a whistle too. Hard to see as he was almost out of the frame.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XWwhH-7qCro" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1003518)
About 3 seconds left in the first half, the last drive to the bucket by Kentucky.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Bx0f90dOOxM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Mon Mar 27, 2017 02:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003546)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/eCpxus9Da7I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

In this one, I'm OK with BI. The ball was still in the cylinder when he touched it so they had that option.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 27, 2017 02:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1003571)
I agree with Jrut. I froze/play/froze play the video and I thought that the ball was touching the net with .6, .5, and .4 seconds. When the ball was no longer in contact with the net, it read .3. I am actually surprised at how accurately they stopped the clock at .3. Probably 100 other clock operators would have stopped it at .2 or less.

While it was touching the bottom of the net, it was outside of it with the net laying on top of it. That is all that is required. It was entirely through by 0.5.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 27, 2017 02:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003592)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Bx0f90dOOxM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Should have been a foul. The defender was way beyond vertical...his hands were even far enough out to actually make contact with the back of the shooter's head and also made contact with the shooter's arms while in that position.

JRutledge Mon Mar 27, 2017 02:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1003595)
While it was touching the bottom of the net, it was outside of it with the net laying on top of it. That is all that is required. It was entirely through by 0.5.

I did not see anything that suggests the ball was completely through at .5. Maybe .4 at best, but the video is inconclusive. I think they got it right based on the angles we have and have shown. I think that is a stretch and would take detailed examining to determine either way. I am good with what they did.

Peace

ChuckS Mon Mar 27, 2017 08:26am

Video Requests - thanks JRut!
 
SC/FL, 2nd half, 7:55, looks like illegal screen (feet too wide), typically not called?

SC/FL, 2nd half, 4:50, Throw-In Violation (Very close, nit-picky, I guess you don't want to be "That guy")

UK/UNC, 2nd half, 1:22, definitely looked like a travel

nolanjj68 Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1003596)
Should have been a foul. The defender was way beyond vertical...his hands were even far enough out to actually make contact with the of the shooter's head and made contact with the shooter's arms while in that position.

I agree. I think both defenders got him.

ODog Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1003569)
Yes, ends dribble with right foot on floor, picks it up and puts it down before shooting or passing

We'll have to agree to disagree here. I'd hardly describe what he did with his right foot as "picking it up and putting it back down."

ODog Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1003596)
Should have been a foul. The defender was way beyond vertical...his hands were even far enough out to actually make contact with the of the shooter's head and made contact with the shooter's arms while in that position.

I'm no-calling that all day. Defender got caved in a little when shooter drove directly into his torso, naturally lowering his arms.

ODog Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003590)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/jRog0jqCMQc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Ball does get knocked away by defender ... once it hits the floor. And yes, that does matter. Sure, Jackson would have recovered it, thus making it a travel (dribble started with pivot foot off the floor), but Monk saved him from that by poking the ball away. Good patient whistle in no-calling this.

The dropping of the ball is nothing. It's what happens next.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1