The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Tournament (Elite 8 Games) Video Requests - Saturday and Sunday (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102475-ncaa-tournament-elite-8-games-video-requests-saturday-sunday.html)

bucky Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1003533)
Concur. I kept waiting for them to announce a correction but it never happened. Initially I thought Higgins was blowing it dead to correct the clock, the official covering the shot had clearly signaled it was a 2 and was not the official to initiate a review of that.

Yes, yes, yes!

AremRed Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1003480)
But anyway, I notice that Jeff Anderson does a mechanic/signal, seemingly when the shot clock is around 10, where he motions/points toward the hoop. Is that a crew/clock awareness thing? Anyone else know what he's doing or employ this themselves?

He's showing everyone he knows the clock really well. I doubt many of his partners are looking at him to see his signal.

AremRed Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1003517)
Should've posted this in here. Lol. 50.4 left 2nd half South Carolina, inbound baseball pass. At what point Did the South Carolina player have possession to start counting his steps. It looked like he traveled while trying to slow down underneath the basket? Or was it a great no call?

That was a travel.

JRutledge Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1003481)
SC/Fla, 10:00 first half. Is this a travel?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WnslaQ-l7RU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1003483)
Well, here we go again. End of first half of Florida game. Player grabs rim with one hand and ball with other BEFORE end of first half. Why no TF? It is automatic!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/eCpxus9Da7I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1003494)
And at about 2:20 left in regulation of Florida game there was ANOTHER rim grab and of course, no call.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bZyUq14aIWM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1003517)
Should've posted this in here. Lol. 50.4 left 2nd half South Carolina, inbound baseball pass. At what point Did the South Carolina player have possession to start counting his steps. It looked like he traveled while trying to slow down underneath the basket? Or was it a great no call?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/2CBE09_lRjU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1003478)
OU/KU 13:44 2nd half

An example of why the Lead should not call fouls above the rim, especially on the other side of the rim

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XDlYE3TVRmw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sun Mar 26, 2017 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1003530)
You don't...and apparently you're not the only one.

You are right!!! LOL!!!!

Peace

Nevadaref Sun Mar 26, 2017 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003546)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/eCpxus9Da7I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Blatant illegal use of the ring for an advantage.
I predict that this will be a topic emphasized by JD Collins prior to next season.

Raymond Sun Mar 26, 2017 08:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003550)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XDlYE3TVRmw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace



That is great defense. That's why I talk to myself in the Lead not to blow my whistle on those plays.

SC Official Sun Mar 26, 2017 08:31pm

NCAAW: Miss. St. vs. Baylor
 
1:04 left in the game. MSU player trips over her own teammate, Dee Kantner calls a foul, then the officials discuss and change it to a travel.

JRutledge Sun Mar 26, 2017 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003528)
Can't believe that they aren't using the monitor to check the clock following UNC's last basket. Rulewise there is a huge difference between 0.3 and 0.4 remaining.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1003531)
I agree. The ball was clear of the net with 0.5 even. That is a huge error that cost UK the chance at a shot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1003533)
Concur. I kept waiting for them to announce a correction but it never happened. Initially I thought Higgins was blowing it dead to correct the clock, the official covering the shot had clearly signaled it was a 2 and was not the official to initiate a review of that.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/cKpsAJlJYw0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


I am going to disagree with all of you. For one the rule states that the goal is not scored until the ball remains in or passes through the basket. Well the ball does not really go through the basket until 0.3.

There is also no evidence they did not look at this. They have an alternate as well and if there was an issue he can to my knowledge let the crew now. There appeared to be a timeout or some stoppage for some time so I am sure they looked at this. But they did appear to get it right based on the pure rule and we know we must prove that we know the exact rule and apply it to the letter. I am not convinced that 0.4 would have been accurate considering that the ball appears to still be in the net. In other words they would be splitting hairs and IMO making a judgment that would be tight at best. They would get killed if they reviewed this later and Kentucky had made a big basket later. That is an easy decision sitting here at a computer screen or on a couch to make such a decision IMO. But hey, what do I know, just giving an opinion that means nothing in the end right?

Peace

bucky Sun Mar 26, 2017 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003550)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XDlYE3TVRmw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

I believe that this controversial call could have been avoided if the L was closed down or even rotated over to the ball side. Freeze the video at 5 seconds when the wing has the ball and notice how far away the L is. When the wing caught the ball, the L should have rotated to the ball side. The play would have been officiated much better.

dahoopref Sun Mar 26, 2017 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003558)
I am going to disagree with all of you. For one the rule states that the goal is not scored until the ball remains in or passes through the basket. Well the ball does not really go through the basket until 0.3.

There is also no evidence they did not look at this. They have an alternate as well and if there was an issue he can to my knowledge let the crew now. There appeared to be a timeout or some stoppage for some time so I am sure they looked at this. But they did appear to get it right based on the pure rule and we know we must prove that we know the exact rule and apply it to the letter. I am not convinced that 0.4 would have been accurate considering that the ball appears to still be in the net. In other words they would be splitting hairs and IMO making a judgment that would be tight at best. They would get killed if they reviewed this later and Kentucky had made a big basket later. That is an easy decision sitting here at a computer screen or on a couch to make such a decision IMO. But hey, what do I know, just giving an opinion that means nothing in the end right?

Peace

I agree with JRut on this 100%.

Per the 2016-17 NCAA Mens Basketball Rulebook, Pg. 103

Quote:

Rule 11 Section 3. Instant Replay—Mandatory Use
Art. 1. Officials shall use such available equipment in the following
situations:
a. When there is a reading of zeroes on the game clock at the end of any
period, after making a call on the playing court, and when necessary to
determine the outcome of the game in the following situations:
1. Determine whether a try for field goal entering the basket was
released before the reading of zeroes on the game clock. When it
is determined that the try for goal was successful, the official is
permitted to put the exact time back on the game clock as to when
the ball passed through the net.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1