![]() |
|
|
|||
I was just watching that myself... I thought they were discussing if it would be a FF1 or not. The WI player reached out and grabbed the Villanova player and there was no possible way for him to "play the ball" as they say. I would've strongly considered calling an intentional foul under FED rules.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I have plenty of deficiencies, but for some reason, this is one type of play I am pretty good at recognizing but I have a LOT of partners who struggle with it. A number of times I have come in as one of the non-calling officials and asked about team control (or told them if I happened to see the whole play), and they frequently seem like they hadn't even considered that we shouldn't be going to shoot free throws on the other end. |
|
|||
Well, about 4:50 to go in the NW/Gonzaga game and there is a Zag player that blocks a shot by going through the hoop. Collins becomes unglued and runs on the court to receive immediate T. Officials totally missed the BI but Collins had no right to act that way, especially after his behavior earlier. Got too much of his dad in him, lol.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() Last edited by bucky; Sat Mar 18, 2017 at 10:12pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
JRut, didn't want to start a new thread without your blessing, so here's a video request from March 19:
Michigan-Louisville, second half, 5:30 left. Louisville player blows a dunk but remains hanging on the rim in order to help corral the rebound. Officials ruled BI, but nothing more. In HS, you could argue this was 10-4-4a (placing a hand on the ring to gain an advantage). Is the rule different in NCAAM, or were the officials likely going with the least disruptive call in a tight game? |
|
|||
To me, a hand through the basket is best seen by the Lead.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I agree and he is probably not looking there. And I bet the other officials had some doubt as to where his hand was. Because he could have hand his hand in the net and not had a BI. But it was a miss and I think it was not tragic either. It probably surprised them as you do not see that every day for sure.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
https://twitter.com/lukewinn/status/...rc=twsrc%5Etfw |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
This crew didn't have a great game overall. They got their share of calls correct, but had other strange moments. For example, there was a play in the 2nd half in which the Lead called a held ball while both the C and T were whistling a foul against Wisconsin. |
|
|||
Quote:
1. The player reached out with his arm as he ran by, not a grab from behind. 2. The other player really didn't have an obvious advantage...he was chasing a ball that was going quite likely going OOB. Of course, my point #2 is in contradiction with the fact that they deemed the Villanova player to have obtained control. And I agree this crew have a rough game. I think there were several misses. However, the biggest ones I can think of favored Villanova. So, that certainly didn't cost them the game.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Mar 19, 2017 at 03:53am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Friday March 17 | JRutledge | Basketball | 15 | Mon Mar 20, 2017 04:03pm |
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Thursday March 16 | Nevadaref | Basketball | 15 | Sun Mar 19, 2017 06:17pm |
ACC Tournament Plays (Video and requests) | JRutledge | Basketball | 49 | Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:59pm |
SEC Tournament Plays (Requests and Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 11 | Mon Mar 13, 2017 09:27am |
Big 12 Tournament plays (Video and Requests) | JRutledge | Basketball | 6 | Fri Mar 10, 2017 08:50am |