![]() |
|
|
|||
Yeah, good get.
T was doing exactly what Rich said he might be doing in that situation, i.e. looking at the bench thinking maybe coach would want a timeout after a momentum-shifter like that play. C covered him like a good crewmate should. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Two things:
1) Awesome work of providing the video, wow! 2) C deserves tremendous amounts of kudos for not bailing and keeping on eye on that. New T was not looking. Imagine if C had not gotten it. Yikes!
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() |
|
|||
I can't tell from the angles whether the defender reached trough the line or not. However, if he didn't, it would still be a T for unsportsmanlike conduct since the thrower was just getting the ball and heading OOB with it to make the throwin.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Mar 06, 2017 at 01:22am. |
|
|||
Quote:
The thrower is clearly OB when the ball is hit so if the defender did not reach over the line to hit the ball, then why would there be a T? In that case, the ball would be on the IB side and able to be struck legally by the defender, correct?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
FWIW, I had been referring to the ball where the use of it would have correct. I changed it to refer to the player instead but didn't do it completely. Quote:
As for calling the T anyway, being OOB isn't enough for the throwin to start (and to start the 5 count). In this case, the thrower was just getting OOB and turned around. I would not have started the throwin yet. I would call a T if the defender slapped the ball out of his hands before the thrower could get the ball OOB, turned around and ready to may the throw....the same as if he were to knock it out of his hands when grabbing it out of the net.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
Quote:
![]() No need to respond to this Cam. You won't get any more exchanges with me. ![]() (In some way, this all reminds me of when I was in Portland in 1980 watching Mount St. Helens erupt)
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() Last edited by bucky; Mon Mar 06, 2017 at 02:45am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
If the official hasn't considered the throwin to have started, it would be T for the defender to knock the ball out of the opponents hands regardless of where the ball was...IB or OOB. The opponent has to let the throwin start before the ball is in play. Once the throwin starts, you'd then be correct. But the question to be answered is when does the throw in start. Does it start with the thrower steps OOB? Sometimes, but often not. At the disposal is more than just being OOB.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Mar 06, 2017 at 05:17pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
This is true AFTER the IB officially begins. But if a player has the ball and is on his way OB to begin the throw in and it is knocked out of his hands? I'd like to think we would all have a T there. I believe that what you are referring to is the situation where the inbounder reaches the ball through the plane, and that is touched/dislodged by the defender. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Florida at Missour Video Request | orangeump | Basketball | 2 | Wed Feb 25, 2015 09:26am |
Video request Florida/Ole Miss | OKREF | Basketball | 0 | Sat Feb 22, 2014 01:51pm |
Miami at North Carolina: Video Request (Clip Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 12 | Thu Jan 09, 2014 05:59pm |
Video Request: Michigan v. Florida (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 11 | Mon Apr 01, 2013 06:43am |
Video Request: Georgetown v. Florida GC (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 13 | Mon Mar 25, 2013 03:15pm |