The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
I can't tell from the angles whether the defender reached trough the line or not. However, if he didn't, it would still be a T for unsportsmanlike conduct since the thrower was just getting the ball and heading OOB with it to make the throwin.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Mar 06, 2017 at 01:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 01:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I can't tell from the angles whether the defender reached trough the line or not. However, if it didn't, it would still be a T for unsportsmanlike conduct since the thrower was just getting the ball and heading OOB with it to make the throwin.
Your profound use of pronouns is killing me. What is "it" in "However, if it didn't.."?

The thrower is clearly OB when the ball is hit so if the defender did not reach over the line to hit the ball, then why would there be a T? In that case, the ball would be on the IB side and able to be struck legally by the defender, correct?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 01:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Your profound use of pronouns is killing me. What is "it" in "However, if it didn't.."?
Oooo...grammar police. It is called a TYPO. Before you go criticizing someone's grammar, perhaps you should contribute something useful here.

FWIW, I had been referring to the ball where the use of it would have correct. I changed it to refer to the player instead but didn't do it completely.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
The thrower is clearly OB when the ball is hit so if the defender did not reach over the line to hit the ball, then why would there be a T? In that case, the ball would be on the IB side and able to be struck legally by the defender, correct?
That is the big question. From the video, we can't tell where the ball was relative to the line. Yes, the thrower was OOB, but that is about all we can be sure of. I'd suggest that the C couldn't be sure of the position of the ball either for the same reasons. He was not in the right position to be able to see whether it was or wan't.

As for calling the T anyway, being OOB isn't enough for the throwin to start (and to start the 5 count). In this case, the thrower was just getting OOB and turned around. I would not have started the throwin yet. I would call a T if the defender slapped the ball out of his hands before the thrower could get the ball OOB, turned around and ready to may the throw....the same as if he were to knock it out of his hands when grabbing it out of the net.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 02:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
As for calling the T anyway, being OOB isn't enough for the throwin to start (and to start the 5 count). In this case, the thrower was just getting OOB and turned around. I would not have started the throwin yet. I would call a T if the defender slapped the ball out of his hands before the thrower could get the ball OOB, turned around and ready to may the throw....the same as if he were to knock it out of his hands when grabbing it out of the net.
Not criticizing your grammar in anyway, just made a factual statement. I simply want to understand you before making a response. Man, you get defensive fast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
As for calling the T anyway, being OOB isn't enough for the throwin to start (and to start the 5 count).
The thrower and ball, and their location IB or OB, has nothing to do with the start of a throw-in and the throw in count. Not sure why you mentioned that part unless what I just typed was what you meant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In this case, the thrower was just getting OOB and turned around. I would not have started the throwin yet.
Can't disagree more. To me, the player was obviously OB. If ball on OB side and hit, then T. If ball on IB side and hit, then continue play. And not sure what difference it makes when "you" start the throw-in.

No need to respond to this Cam. You won't get any more exchanges with me.

(In some way, this all reminds me of when I was in Portland in 1980 watching Mount St. Helens erupt)
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Mon Mar 06, 2017 at 02:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 02:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
No need to respond to this Cam. You won't get any more exchanges with me.
I love when people can't support their opinion and refuse to discuss it more.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Can't disagree more. To me, the player was obviously OB. If ball on OB side and hit, then T. If ball on IB side and hit, then continue play. And not sure what difference it makes when "you" start the throw-in.
This is where you are wrong. When the official considers the throwin to have started makes ALL the difference, and it isn't necessarily when it seems you think it is.

If the official hasn't considered the throwin to have started, it would be T for the defender to knock the ball out of the opponents hands regardless of where the ball was...IB or OOB. The opponent has to let the throwin start before the ball is in play. Once the throwin starts, you'd then be correct. But the question to be answered is when does the throw in start. Does it start with the thrower steps OOB? Sometimes, but often not. At the disposal is more than just being OOB.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Mar 06, 2017 at 05:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 07:18am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Delay Of Game ???

If the inbounder hadn't yet gotten out of bounds, and the ball was slapped away, would it be a technical foul, or would it be a delay of game warning (assuming there had not been a previous warning)?

A warning to a team for delay is an administrative procedure by an official
which is recorded in the scorebook by the scorer and reported to the coach:
ART. 1 . . . For throw-in plane violations, as in 9-2-10, 10-1-5c.
ART. 2 . . . For huddle by either team and contact with the free thrower, as in
10-1-5d.
ART. 3 . . . For interfering with the ball following a goal as in 10-1-5e.
ART. 4 . . . For failure to have the court ready for play following any time-out
as in 10-1-5f.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Mar 06, 2017 at 07:27am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If the inbounder hadn't yet gotten out of bounds, and the ball was slapped away, would it be a technical foul, or would it be a delay of game warning (assuming there had not been a previous warning)?

A warning to a team for delay is an administrative procedure by an official
which is recorded in the scorebook by the scorer and reported to the coach:
ART. 1 . . . For throw-in plane violations, as in 9-2-10, 10-1-5c.
ART. 2 . . . For huddle by either team and contact with the free thrower, as in
10-1-5d.
ART. 3 . . . For interfering with the ball following a goal as in 10-1-5e.
ART. 4 . . . For failure to have the court ready for play following any time-out
as in 10-1-5f.
NFHS
It would be a technical foul per 10-4-5a.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If the inbounder hadn't yet gotten out of bounds, and the ball was slapped away, would it be a technical foul, or would it be a delay of game warning (assuming there had not been a previous warning)?

A warning to a team for delay is an administrative procedure by an official
which is recorded in the scorebook by the scorer and reported to the coach:
ART. 1 . . . For throw-in plane violations, as in 9-2-10, 10-1-5c.
ART. 2 . . . For huddle by either team and contact with the free thrower, as in
10-1-5d.
ART. 3 . . . For interfering with the ball following a goal as in 10-1-5e.
ART. 4 . . . For failure to have the court ready for play following any time-out
as in 10-1-5f.
No. Slapping the ball out of his hands is an unsporting act and is an automatic T.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
The thrower and ball, and their location IB or OB, has nothing to do with the start of a throw-in and the throw in count. Not sure why you mentioned that part unless what I just typed was what you meant.



Can't disagree more. To me, the player was obviously OB. If ball on OB side and hit, then T. If ball on IB side and hit, then continue play. And not sure what difference it makes when "you" start the throw-in.
Seriously? Does this mean that as soon as the ball goes through the hoop that you start counting? Where the ball and inbounder are located absolutely are relevant here.

This is true AFTER the IB officially begins. But if a player has the ball and is on his way OB to begin the throw in and it is knocked out of his hands? I'd like to think we would all have a T there. I believe that what you are referring to is the situation where the inbounder reaches the ball through the plane, and that is touched/dislodged by the defender.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Seriously? Does this mean that as soon as the ball goes through the hoop that you start counting? Where the ball and inbounder are located absolutely are relevant here.
Yes, seriously. No, not as soon as it goes through the hoop because when the ball goes through the hoop, it is not readily available. Throw-in starts and count starts when ball is at the disposal of the thrower. I do not feel that ball and inbounder location are relevant to when throwin/count start as it is not described in the throw-in administration. An an example, the ball goes through the hoop, bounces, and comes to rest IB. The thrower, also IB, stands next to the ball for 3 seconds. Clearly, the ball is at his disposal and a count would be started. neither ball, nor thrower were OB but rather IB. The ball's location and the thrower's location, as far as IB/OB, matter not.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Yes, seriously. No, not as soon as it goes through the hoop because when the ball goes through the hoop, it is not readily available. Throw-in starts and count starts when ball is at the disposal of the thrower. I do not feel that ball and inbounder location are relevant to when throwin/count start as it is not described in the throw-in administration. An an example, the ball goes through the hoop, bounces, and comes to rest IB. The thrower, also IB, stands next to the ball for 3 seconds. Clearly, the ball is at his disposal and a count would be started. neither ball, nor thrower were OB but rather IB. The ball's location and the thrower's location, as far as IB/OB, matter not.
Fair enough, but if the eventual inbounder is clearly on their way to securing the ball and is going straight OOB, then you will hold the start of your count until they are there correct? That is why I don't think you can say that the location of either has "nothing" to do with the start of the throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Yes, seriously. No, not as soon as it goes through the hoop because when the ball goes through the hoop, it is not readily available. Throw-in starts and count starts when ball is at the disposal of the thrower. I do not feel that ball and inbounder location are relevant to when throwin/count start as it is not described in the throw-in administration. An an example, the ball goes through the hoop, bounces, and comes to rest IB. The thrower, also IB, stands next to the ball for 3 seconds. Clearly, the ball is at his disposal and a count would be started. neither ball, nor thrower were OB but rather IB. The ball's location and the thrower's location, as far as IB/OB, matter not.
When does it start, then? What is disposal? What criteria are used to start the count?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 04:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Yes, seriously. No, not as soon as it goes through the hoop because when the ball goes through the hoop, it is not readily available. Throw-in starts and count starts when ball is at the disposal of the thrower. I do not feel that ball and inbounder location are relevant to when throwin/count start as it is not described in the throw-in administration. An an example, the ball goes through the hoop, bounces, and comes to rest IB. The thrower, also IB, stands next to the ball for 3 seconds. Clearly, the ball is at his disposal and a count would be started. neither ball, nor thrower were OB but rather IB. The ball's location and the thrower's location, as far as IB/OB, matter not.
99 times out of 100, you should not start the count until the thrower has the ball OOB and is looking for a teammate. This is what Camron was getting at. The fact that there are exceptions does not change that fact.

(moderator note) I'm not going to address your other garbage, Camron seems to have done that well enough, other than to say it really needs to stop now.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Florida at Missour Video Request orangeump Basketball 2 Wed Feb 25, 2015 09:26am
Video request Florida/Ole Miss OKREF Basketball 0 Sat Feb 22, 2014 01:51pm
Miami at North Carolina: Video Request (Clip Added) JRutledge Basketball 12 Thu Jan 09, 2014 05:59pm
Video Request: Michigan v. Florida (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 11 Mon Apr 01, 2013 06:43am
Video Request: Georgetown v. Florida GC (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 13 Mon Mar 25, 2013 03:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1