The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 23, 2017, 10:57am
Official Forum Member

Play off Assignment

Well, 17 years ago, I became a basketball referee. Before that I was an 11 year coach. 4 years ago I was elected to our Executive board and this year for the 1st time, I have 4 play off assignments. In the past I have always had 1 each year for the past 13 years.

Having 4 is incredible. 2 down, 2 to go. Last nights we had such a great crew. We worked so well together. The game was like silk. it was a Sectional Championship game in WV. 2 good teams skill wise. Home shot poorly in 1st half so it was a 4 point lead for H at the half.

I refereed the previous meeting and in that game the V coach was tossed by a different partner. This game he was a gentleman. He lost by 16 but it was fun to officiate. Good crowd about 800 people. How are the crowds at your play off games? BTW, I did a play off game at a smaller school on Tuesday and there were 30 people there....and we tossed one of them....again a partner, not me. I have never tossed a fan, only 2 coaches.
Old Thu Feb 23, 2017, 11:49am
Official Fiveum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
I have never tossed a fan, only 2 coaches.
That's a pretty good ratio so far.
Old Thu Feb 23, 2017, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member

And this morning I just got a 5th play off game. WOW. After coaching for 11 years and getting into officiating at 44, I never expected this to happen. I can say that I never get buddy buddy with the coaches. I go to the gym, do my job to the best of my ability and go home to my wife and family.

I study the rules, view website discussion groups, watch videos and work on my mechanics. It all pays off.
Old Thu Feb 23, 2017, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member

congrats!
Old Thu Feb 23, 2017, 02:08pm
AremRed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post