![]() |
After AremRed's first response, I expected there to be no more.
Not sure what an internet fight is and I do play/coach/officiate/spectate. Anyway, had a HS game the other night and I was L. Breakaway layup that was on the rim but defender tried to block it(missed it) and slapped the backboard quite hard. Suddenly, the T whistles, runs in, and signals the basket good. The C and I exchange puzzled looks and play continues. It was as if a hush fell across the packed gym and you could feel that everyone was internally questioning the call. The next day, I was working a college game and we discussed that playand other BI/GT scenarios. Sure enough, we had a breakaway layup, ball hit glass and was on way down above ring level and defender swatted it. T whistled and scored the goal. I have had the backboard slap many, many times in HS games and have never seen an official score the basket. When it happened in the HS game, do you think I or my other partner should have stopped the game and brought info to the calling official at that point? Can we "wave off" a scored basket and then administer the Technical foul if we think it is warranted? If I recall, the layup did not go in. So, if we cancel the BI call, which to me would cause more trouble than it is worth, do we administer as an IW and go to A/P? |
Goaltending ...
Quote:
Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, and has the possibility of entering the basket. If the ball was inside the cylinder, correct basket interference call in a high school game. I can't speak in regard to NCAA rules. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. |
Quote:
We also had a thread a few weeks ago on the exact situation which you claim to have experienced--a partner misapplies the NFHS rule and awards points for a backboard slap. I'm shocked that an experienced official would do nothing when that occurs. |
Quote:
|
Are They Not Welcome ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As far as the coaches, if they're still upset after you explain that by rule they can't earn 2 points that way, it's on them. And if your partner gets butthurt about you knowing the rules better than he does, that's also on him. That's why there are 3 of us, so we don't screw up simple things like this. This isn't overruling a call, it's literally knowing what the rules allow and don't. So if you pass on this, and the game ends up being decided by a possession or two, are you still happy with the decision? |
Magic Words ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
This happened in a game for me last year. Partner calls the T as the T, and I thought it was a great block attempt. I asked him if he thought it was a legal block attempt, which is the threshold at the HS level. He said he did not, that ended the conversation and we adjudicated the penalty.
I thought he was wrong since the play was on a fast break and I had a pretty good angle, and quite frankly the kid barely missed the block (although the backboard was hit very hard, I think its the severity of the hit to the backboard that throws guys off). I'm not going to argue, he cited all I needed to hear for his call, he gets to defend it to the coach, and we move on with the game. |
Dug His Own Grave ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
As a coach, I prefer the crew to get the call right. Flow of the game and the feelings of coaches/officials are, to say the least, secondary.
I do appreciate the insight into rules and the complexities in enforcing them. I've had this very conversation with a referee recently (HSBV) and I now have come to understand the backboard can be slapped and unless the ring/backboard are moving such that they disrupt a try for goal, there's no call to be made, save for a T which sounds like a very rare and perhaps tough call to make. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm. |