The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt Violation or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102267-backcourt-violation-not.html)

crosscountry55 Thu Feb 16, 2017 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 1000443)
So if no teammate was at the other end of the court, and she made the exact same movements, and then tracked the ball down, you'd have an illegal dribble? If so fair enough and I'd agree, I just don't ever clearly see a point where I tell myself, "yes, that dribble has ended."

I like this point. There seemed like a directed flick of the wrist in order to propel that ball across the court, but yet again, if the division line isn't a factor here and she tracks down the ball, I'm not sure I have the courage to put air in my whistle for a violation. I'm unabashedly torn about this one.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1000445)
This is one of those cases where they dribble certainly "ended" but we may not know for an absolute certainty until later.....when it is clear that it was a pass.

It was pretty clear that was a pass. While it is possible for it to have been a dribble, how many times have you seen player dribble 30 feet away from and into pressure?

I like this counterpoint, too.

This is one of those cases where, if I'm an evaluator, I don't think I'm going to get upset over either possible outcome. This is about as 50/50 as it gets.

Rich Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:34am

Let's be honest here -- none of us who work any reasonable level of hoops puts a whistle on every technical carrying violation. We'd call 20 of them a game and be sentenced to a neverending diet of freshman B girls games. Rather, we call it when the ball handler uses that carry to gain an advantage, despite what some say about "not using advantage/disadvantage on violations."

So whether I'd call a carry if the player continued a dribble after securing the ball means diddly to me. However, she ended the dribble, albeit briefly, and used that to propel/direct the ball to the backcourt. This is why I see a violation here and wouldn't hesitate to call one.

hamnegger Fri Feb 17, 2017 08:57am

The fact that the ball may never have left the backcourt doesn't matter? I don't feel the official has a good angle on the play either. To me he is playing a guessing game which is why play on to me is fine.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 17, 2017 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hamnegger (Post 1000476)
The fact that the ball may never have left the backcourt doesn't matter?

Of course it matters. If it never left the backcourt, then it can't be a violation. Note that the ball itself need not touch the frontcourt to have (by rule) a frontcourt location.

I agree with the call.

BillyMac Fri Feb 17, 2017 05:46pm

Backcourt ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1000479)
I agree with the call.

Also agree. It was a pass, not a dribble, so the three point (foot, foot, ball) rule doesn't apply here. The instant she threw the pass, both of her feet were in the frontcourt, giving the ball frontcourt status.

AremRed Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1000458)
What's the 5th?

Bump.

Camron Rust Sat Feb 18, 2017 04:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1000551)
Bump.

I think the dribble ends when time expires. ;)

deecee Sat Feb 18, 2017 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 1000431)
Which of the 5 criteria in the book would you say were met in order to determine that she ended her dribble?

I'd say the common sense one where she didn't dribble again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1