Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
False multiple fits the situation with a try involved. I gave the administration above.
False multiple is also the closest rule book definition for the situation without a try for goal involved, but because one contact situation is not going to be a foul by rule (4-19-1 Note), it doesn't actually fit. We merely have a single personal foul and some incidental contact during a dead ball.
To answer BigCat's question, the NFHS rules do not permit simultaneous fouls by the same team against two or more opponents.
|
I would not go so far as to say the rule do not permit simultaneous fouls just because it is undefined. IIRC, the rules didn't define simultaneous fouls as we have it today for a long time. I suspect it is more of an oversight than not being permitted.
What you suggest about the ball being dead and the other contact being incidental is true if they don't happen at the same time, but if they happen at the same time (so close no one can tell if one happened before the other), I think both can happen.