|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 False multiple is also the closest rule book definition for the situation without a try for goal involved, but because one contact situation is not going to be a foul by rule (4-19-1 Note), it doesn't actually fit. We merely have a single personal foul and some incidental contact during a dead ball. To answer BigCat's question, the NFHS rules do not permit simultaneous fouls by the same team against two or more opponents. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 What you suggest about the ball being dead and the other contact being incidental is true if they don't happen at the same time, but if they happen at the same time (so close no one can tell if one happened before the other), I think both can happen. 
				__________________ Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 My position is that there are no rules providing for how to penalize such. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			That I don't know. They are, together, the 6th and 7th foul. So which gets the FTs? That is the big question. However, if they were truly at the same time, what rules do you have to identify which to ignore?
		 
				__________________ Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			That is still an unknown that you're trying to resolve.
		 
				__________________ Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association | 
| 
 | ||||
| 
			
			There's no easy way out of this once-in-a-career play. But to me it's going to be easier to come up with some reason to choose one over the other than to decide who gets free throws if you call them both.
		 
				__________________ Sprinkles are for winners. | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |