The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Reference for Throwing Ball off Own Backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102019-reference-throwing-ball-off-own-backboard.html)

Camron Rust Sun Jan 01, 2017 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 996043)
You're right about the typo. I corrected it, my apologies. As for the fundamental part of the rule, the case play cited is what it is, and apparently is an exception to that fundamental. You don't call this a travel?

(Assuming you're talking about case wherein a player throws the ball over an opponents head and catches it without letting it hit the floor).

I do, only because the NFHS has made it clear that they view that as an unintended advantage. Rather than rewrite the rule to cover it, they cover it by spirit by way of a case play.

Likewise, the throwing off the backboard, is expressly allowed by case play. As I'm thinking about it and the reasons why, I'm considering changing my mind on whether the player would be allowed to dribble again. Essentially, throwing it off the backboard is, in most aspects, treated the same, in spirit, as throwing it off another player or a try.

BigCat Sun Jan 01, 2017 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 996051)
The case play only states that, after ending a dribble, it's legal to throw the ball against one's own backboard, and it's also legal to catch it. It doesn't say that it's legal to start a new dribble. There is no exception listed for this maneuver in the Illegal Dribble rule.

If a coach politely says to me that this is an illegal dribble, I have no rulebook basis, nor do I have a specific casebook basis, to support my no call.

Cite me Billy. I'll take the heat for it. I think i would treat it as if it were like a throw off another player. If there was a foul by offense while it was all happening id probably stay with team control since i knew it wasnt a try. I think throwing it off board gives a fresh start for the player. Im only saying that because the case play itself is so far out away form the rules that if they want to allow that im going to allow the dribble after the catch.

just another ref Sun Jan 01, 2017 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 996058)
Essentially, throwing it off the backboard is, in most aspects, treated the same, in spirit, as throwing it off another player or a try.

Agreed, and with that in mind, he can move to catch the throw off the board, and he can start a new dribble afterward. Neither is specifically allowed. So if one is illegal, it seems that the other would be illegal.

I would allow both.

BillyMac Sun Jan 01, 2017 04:32pm

Dean Wormer ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 996062)
Cite me Billy.

Consider yourself cited. Double secret probation. It's the worst sanction that a Forum member can get. It doesn't get much worse that that. What's your penalty? I can't tell you. It's a secret. I could tell you, but then I'd have to kill you.

BigCat Sun Jan 01, 2017 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 996067)
Consider yourself cited. Double secret probation. It's the worst sanction that a Forum member can get. It doesn't get much worse that that. What's your penalty? I can't tell you. It's a secret. I could tell you, but then I'd have to kill you.

It's ok. Then I'd be down to 5 lives. Good to be a cat. Wish I wasn't such a big one however...

ripian01 Tue Jan 03, 2017 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 995817)
NFHS 4-5-1: "A team's own basket is the one into which its players try to throw or tap the ball." Accordingly, the team's "own backboard" would be that to which said basket is attached.
This is a valid question, because, as it has been noted here before, I think FIBA's terminology is reversed from this. Anybody who speaks FIBA available to verify that?

FIBA you defend your basket and attempt to score in your opponents basket.

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

Old Man Ref Tue Jan 03, 2017 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 996063)
Agreed, and with that in mind, he can move to catch the throw off the board, and he can start a new dribble afterward. Neither is specifically allowed. So if one is illegal, it seems that the other would be illegal.

I would allow both.

Here is a play I had several years ago. Player A steals the ball and is going in for a dunk. He throws the ball off the backboard and attempts a tomahawk slam. But he is too far from the basket and lands with the ball. in hand. He goes back up and two hand slams the ball. I called a travel simply because I never saw that play before. But researching that play later, I believe that it was legal and I should have allowed the goal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1