The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Reference for Throwing Ball off Own Backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102019-reference-throwing-ball-off-own-backboard.html)

BryanV21 Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:28pm

Okay, I should expand...

Throwing the ball off your own backboard and having a violation. Like if a player lobs the ball off their backboard, gets the rebound in the air and slams it (like we've seen in NBA slam dunk contests). Would you call that a violation?

billyu2 Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 995845)
Okay, I should expand...

Throwing the ball off your own backboard and having a violation. Like if a player lobs the ball off their backboard, gets the rebound in the air and slams it (like we've seen in NBA slam dunk contests). Would you call that a violation?

Could be basket interference if the ball was in the cylinder.

BryanV21 Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 995850)
Could be basket interference if the ball was in the cylinder.

but otherwise you're calling the lob off the backboard a try for goal, and allowing the dunk that follows?

Raymond Thu Dec 29, 2016 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 995851)
but otherwise you're calling the lob off the backboard a try for goal, and allowing the dunk that follows?

We don't have to call it a try for goal. It's legal to throw the ball off one's own backboard.

billyu2 Thu Dec 29, 2016 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 995851)
but otherwise you're calling the lob off the backboard a try for goal, and allowing the dunk that follows?

It may or may not be a try in the judgment of the official, but it's legal. So, unless the lob off the backboard was a free throw :eek:, then I guess the dunk is allowed.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 29, 2016 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 995851)
but otherwise you're calling the lob off the backboard a try for goal, and allowing the dunk that follows?

It is NOT a try unless you think they're trying to shoot it. It is just a throw off their own backboard. And such action is entirely legal. It isn't a pass. It isn't a dribble. It isn't a try. It does not, however, allow a new dribble if the player has ended the first dribble unless you rule it to be a try. The case mentioned above that rules that the subsequent dribble is legal is because the play setup declared the throw to have been a try.

BryanV21 Thu Dec 29, 2016 04:59pm

*facepalm*

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Thu Dec 29, 2016 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 995834)
Can somebody give a situation where throwing the ball off your own backboard (per NFHS rules) is not a try for goal?

I'm actually asking... not trying to quiz anybody.

Break-away situation. Player alone decides to show off. He tosses the ball off the backboard, then runs and jumps to grab the ball and dunk it.

The throwing of the ball off the backboard is clearly not an attempt to score, but it is legal because of Case play 9.5

Nevadaref Thu Dec 29, 2016 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 995860)
It is NOT a try unless you think they're trying to shoot it. It is just a throw off their own backboard. And such action is entire legal. It isn't a pass. It isn't a dribble. It isn't a try. I does not, however, allow a new dribble if the player has ended the first dribble unless you rule it to be a try. The case mentioned above that rules that the subsequent dribble is legal is because the play setup declared the throw to have been a try.

I'm going to disagree with that part because of 9.5 Situation.

BillyMac Thu Dec 29, 2016 06:39pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995832)
How did Billy get Freddy's password?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 995872)
Case play 9.5

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; and catches the ball. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.

The caseplay states that, after ending a dribble, it's legal to throw the ball against one's own backboard, and it's also legal to catch it.

It doesn't say that it's legal to start a new dribble (unless the official deems the throw to be a try).

Why is equipment in quotes? Could the player use his leg sleeve to do the same thing? Leg sleeves are equipment.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 29, 2016 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 995873)
I'm going to disagree with that part because of 9.5 Situation.

Nothing in 9.5 indicates or implies that the player is granted a new dribble, just that trowing it off the board and catching (which is not a dribble) it is legal.

I don't see any thing that suggests the dribble rules are suspended.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 30, 2016 08:54am

We've had this discussion multiple times in the past -- with the same (non-) results.

I think NFHS changed that case play a number of years ago -- but it didn't help.

SSDD.

just another ref Fri Dec 30, 2016 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 995872)
Break-away situation. Player alone decides to show off. He tosses the ball off the backboard, then runs and jumps to grab the ball and dunk it.

The throwing of the ball off the backboard is clearly not an attempt to score, but it is legal because of Case play 9.5

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 995878)
Nothing in 9.5 indicates or implies that the player is granted a new dribble, just that trowing it off the board and catching (which is not a dribble) it is legal.

I don't any thing that suggests the dribble rules are suspended.

If 9.5 doesn't mean the slate is clear and he's free to do anything, then wouldn't the dunk play be traveling?

Camron Rust Fri Dec 30, 2016 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 995929)
If 9.5 doesn't mean the slate is clear and he's free to do anything, then wouldn't the dunk play be traveling?

No.

just another ref Fri Dec 30, 2016 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 995933)
No.

Why not? He threw the ball, ran and caught it again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1