![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the try ended, had no chance to go in, the ball is dead (the airborne shooter already returned to the floor) then contact by b2 is ignored unless intentional or flagrant. You havnt described anything intentionalor flagrant. Last edited by BigCat; Wed Dec 21, 2016 at 09:21am. |
|
|||
The exceptions to rule 6-7-6 is the ball does Not become dead unroll the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Occurs while a try or tap for afield goal is in flight. |
|
|||
Quote:
So is this what you are saying? If the try had a chance we should have called a common foul, which would in this case been the 5th team foul. We report the foul, no shots rewarded and the quarter is over. |
|
|||
Quote:
If the try had a chance (you are not CERTAIN that it will be unsuccessful) then the try has not ended and the qtr is not over. if b fouls A1 before the qtr ends then report the common foul. if it is only the 5th team foul qtr is over. next qtr starts with Arrow. |
|
|||
Quote:
Excellent and correct answer. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
I didn't read anyone say that, which is why I brought it up. Just that it would be the 5th team foul and we'd move on.
|
|
|||
yes, he is an airborne shooter until he returns to the floor. If the shot was blocked into the 3rd row the try is over but since the shooter has not yet returned to the floor the qtr is not over. Airborne shooter is considered to be in act of shooting.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Nobody has mentioned that if the shot had a chance to go in (meaning the ball is still live) the foul on the airborne shooter (assuming one was called) would result in one or two FTs (depending on if the try was good or not). All that's been said is that if the try has a chance to go in the ball remains live, and therefore the foul can be called. However, the result of that foul has only been said to be the team's 5th foul... not that free throws could come into play. |
|
|||
Quote:
if you change the play, you change the results. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Foul, then horn, but no free throws? | NCHSAA | Basketball | 15 | Mon May 23, 2011 11:44am |
foul then horn then release | A Pennsylvania Coach | Basketball | 8 | Wed Dec 31, 2008 03:37am |
shot, foul, horn.... | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 8 | Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:16pm |
Foul, horn, shot | ChuckElias | Basketball | 5 | Wed Nov 30, 2005 07:18pm |
foul as horn sounds... | thumpferee | Basketball | 14 | Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:49am |