![]() |
Foul after the horn
A2 chases after a missed shot in the corner of the floor. Catches the ball and shoots a fade away 3 at the buzzer. A2 comes back to the floor and buzzer sounds to end the quarter (in this case the 3rd). B2 in attempt to block the shot land's on A2.
I would have a hard time calling a dead ball foul here. What would you all have in this situation? |
Quote:
|
I assumed I would get that answer. It is definitely a play that could have hundreds of different levels of contact, or amount of time after the horn, etc.
|
Quote:
If the try ended, had no chance to go in, the ball is dead (the airborne shooter already returned to the floor) then contact by b2 is ignored unless intentional or flagrant. You havnt described anything intentionalor flagrant. |
The airborne shooter came back down to the floor after the time expired, so yes I believe it is.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The exceptions to rule 6-7-6 is the ball does Not become dead unroll the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Occurs while a try or tap for afield goal is in flight. |
Quote:
So is this what you are saying? If the try had a chance we should have called a common foul, which would in this case been the 5th team foul. We report the foul, no shots rewarded and the quarter is over. |
Quote:
If the try had a chance (you are not CERTAIN that it will be unsuccessful) then the try has not ended and the qtr is not over. if b fouls A1 before the qtr ends then report the common foul. if it is only the 5th team foul qtr is over. next qtr starts with Arrow. |
Quote:
Excellent and correct answer. MTD, Sr. |
Ok thank you Gentlemen.
|
If the shooter has not returned to the floor the foul on him would lead to free throws... right?
|
Quote:
Just like any other foul on an airborne shooter... |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55am. |