The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Part 2 test (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101970-part-2-test.html)

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995174)
Team B is assessed a T. Coach A doesn't (after being asked) name a shooter.

Do you asses Coach A with a direct T? Ask the Captain? Assess Captain A with a T? Assess a Team T? Other? Reference?

(I'd vote for option A, but I don't know if there's something specific I'm missing)

It's not following a timeout and its not a throw in so resumption of play procedure isnt used. Direct T to coach. I dont see this happening. (Call a T on B and A refuses to give me a shooter.)

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:48am

Thanks BigCat ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995178)
You need to get a current rule book. 8-1-2 says it is a "team technical."
That is why...it is a team technical. You have not quoted the current 8-1-2. Yours is an older version.

Pick a prize from the top shelf.

Thanks for your due diligence. I was too lazy to get my current book (printed on dead trees) in my bag in another room. My digital version, on my computer, is a few years old.

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:50am

Code Of Conduct ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995180)
(Call a T on B and A refuses to give me a shooter.)

Will never happen. Coaches will never act like a..holes. Never, ever.

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995181)
Pick a prize from the top shelf.

Thanks for your due diligence. I was too lazy to get my current book (printed on dead trees) in my bag in another room. My digital version, on my computer, is a few years old.

You can buy another one for $6 and have it on your phone...unless your phone is rotary dialed...

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:57am

They Still Sell These ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995183)
You can buy another one for $6 and have it on your phone...unless your phone is rotary dialed...

Close, it's a flip phone.

I don't get a signal at work (basement, lots of electronics), and I get a poor signal at home, (mountain between me and the cell tower, I only get a weak signal by my second floor bedroom window). I just use my flip phone in the car on my daily commute.

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995184)
Close, it's a flip phone.

I just use my flip phone in the car on my daily commute.

That is illegal in Connecticut....without a hands free device. Do they make hands free devices for your dinosaur phone??

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:04pm

True Story ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995183)
... unless your phone is rotary dialed...

About fifteen years ago, before I retired from teaching, I was supervising a group of student volunteers at a bloodmobile at the local Moose Lodge. One student asked to use the phone, that was located in another room. The student came back stating that he didn't know how to use the phone. It was a rotary phone.

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:06pm

Are You A Cop, You Have To Tell Me If You Are ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995185)
That is illegal in Connecticut....

Correct. Hands free blue tooth speaker on my sun visor.

bob jenkins Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995180)
It's not following a timeout and its not a throw in so resumption of play procedure isnt used. Direct T to coach. I dont see this happening. (Call a T on B and A refuses to give me a shooter.)

What if after the T there is a TO? Does that change your answer? (I can see A staying n the huddle, perhaps, on this one).

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995188)
What if after the T there is a TO? Does that change your answer? (I can see A staying n the huddle, perhaps, on this one).

Yes, resumption of play is used after TO.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 19, 2016 03:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 995167)
4-19-3.

Yes, I know it is defined. But, that is the end of it. None of the sub-parts of that rule apply during a dead ball. They either explicitly mention live ball or are in relation to a play (which also doesn't happen during a dead ball). It lists no examples of acts that occur during a dead ball. We all take it to be excessive contact during a dead ball, but why does it explicitly mention live ball if that is the case?

I think the implication in the rules is that you call a simple technical foul when contact occurs that would have been an intentional foul during a live ball. There is never a case where you need to call an intentional technical as it means absolutely nothing.

That explanation fits the question.

Rich Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:12am

It's a poor question. We refer to it as an intentional technical, the definitions do as well.

Adam Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 995225)
Yes, I know it is defined. But, that is the end of it. None of the sub-parts of that rule apply during a dead ball. They either explicitly mention live ball or are in relation to a play (which also doesn't happen during a dead ball). It lists no examples of acts that occur during a dead ball. We all take it to be excessive contact during a dead ball, but why does it explicitly mention live ball if that is the case?

I think the implication in the rules is that you call a simple technical foul when contact occurs that would have been an intentional foul during a live ball. There is never a case where you need to call an intentional technical as it means absolutely nothing.

That explanation fits the question.

Your logic, while sound, doesn't make this a better question. We constantly tell newer officials not to read too much into the questions on the test. Hell, that's normally a good test taking strategy in any situation (I just took a state licensing test and that was the biggest advice I was given during the preparation for the test).

This question, however, demands that you read a lot into it that's not there. I'd be curious to see which answer the NFHS deems correct.

Rich Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 995243)
Your logic, while sound, doesn't make this a better question. We constantly tell newer officials not to read too much into the questions on the test. Hell, that's normally a good test taking strategy in any situation (I just took a state licensing test and that was the biggest advice I was given during the preparation for the test).

This question, however, demands that you read a lot into it that's not there. I'd be curious to see which answer the NFHS deems correct.

The answer follows Cameron's logic, however it doesn't make the question any better.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1