The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Part 2 test (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101970-part-2-test.html)

Mo-Money Sat Dec 17, 2016 06:04am

Part 2 test
 
I can not find the answer to this question. Is this just a bad question with no correct answer? Please help.

Following a time-out, if free throw, A1, is not in the free-throw semicircle for the second time, when the administering official is ready:

a. A warning is given to A1.
b. A1 will not be allowed to shoot the free throw.
c. A team technical foul for delay is charged to A.
d. Team A1's coach will lose coaching-box privileges.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 17, 2016 06:18am

The correct answer is there. Rule reference 4-38.

BillyMac Sat Dec 17, 2016 07:13am

Player Technical Or Team Technical
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995108)
Following a time-out, if free throw, A1, is not in the free-throw semicircle for the second time, when the administering official is ready:
a. A warning is given to A1.
b. A1 will not be allowed to shoot the free throw.
c. A team technical foul for delay is charged to A.
d. Team A1's coach will lose coaching-box privileges.

Assuming that the Resumption of Play procedure has already been used, is it a team technical or a player technical?

bob jenkins Sat Dec 17, 2016 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995110)
Assuming that the Resumption of Play procedure has already been used, is it a team technical or a player technical?

10-1-5 (in an old book)

Rich Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:55am

Nothing to do with this question....but Part 2 is the worst written exam I've taken in 30 years of officiating.

I know some states use it as closed book, so I won't post the 6-7 bad questions asked, including the one where all answers were incorrect.

DrPete Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995111)
10-1-5 (in an old book)

Looks like this is addressed in rule 10-4-5 in the current 2016-2017 rule book, under Player Technicals.

BillyMac Sat Dec 17, 2016 02:38pm

My Guess, Player Technical ..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995111)
10-1-5

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 995125)
10-4-5 ... Player Technicals.

So I ask again, is it a player technical, or a team technical?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995108)
Following a time-out, if free throw, A1, is not in the free-throw semicircle for the second time, when the administering official is ready ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995110)
Assuming that the Resumption of Play procedure has already been used (once) ...


BillyMac Sat Dec 17, 2016 02:46pm

Player Technical Foul ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995127)
So I ask again, is it a player technical, or a team technical?

This (below) is not exactly the same, but points to a player technical foul.

8.1.1 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try for goal. The calling
official has properly reported the foul and is in position for the free throws.
The administering official has given all instructions and signals. Team B is properly
occupying the required spaces, but three teammates of A1 are huddling
inside the lane. RULING: Team A is warned for delay, the scorer records it and it
is reported to the head coach. If Team A commits any delay thereafter in the
game, a team technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Since this situation is
not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.
If
the free thrower is in the semicircle, but does not accept the ball, it shall be placed
on the floor and the count started.

Mo-Money Sat Dec 17, 2016 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995128)
This (below) is not exactly the same, but points to a player technical foul.

8.1.1 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try for goal. The calling
official has properly reported the foul and is in position for the free throws.
The administering official has given all instructions and signals. Team B is properly
occupying the required spaces, but three teammates of A1 are huddling
inside the lane. RULING: Team A is warned for delay, the scorer records it and it
is reported to the head coach. If Team A commits any delay thereafter in the
game, a team technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Since this situation is
not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.
If
the free thrower is in the semicircle, but does not accept the ball, it shall be placed
on the floor and the count started.



So what you're saying according to the rule is that it's a technical foul on player A1. But there is no option for that answer on the test just a technical on team A only.

BigCat Sat Dec 17, 2016 07:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995108)
I can not find the answer to this question. Is this just a bad question with no correct answer? Please help.

Following a time-out, if free throw, A1, is not in the free-throw semicircle for the second time, when the administering official is ready:

a. A warning is given to A1.
b. A1 will not be allowed to shoot the free throw.
c. A team technical foul for delay is charged to A.
d. Team A1's coach will lose coaching-box privileges.

I guess this was a two shot FT. Following TO he isn't in circle. Resumption play. Place ball on floor count 10. Violation. Get ready for second FT. He is still not there after that violation.8-1-2. Offending team continues to delay-team Technical. If I'm basing the T on the resumption of play procedure, which, we are if he is given two chances, it is a team technical. (Even though A1 is the same person screwing it up. The answer is C

AremRed Sat Dec 17, 2016 08:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 995124)
Nothing to do with this question....but Part 2 is the worst written exam I've taken in 30 years of officiating.

I know some states use it as closed book, so I won't post the 6-7 bad questions asked, including the one where all answers were incorrect.

You mean the "officials jurisdiction begins when..." question?

Rich Sat Dec 17, 2016 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 995145)
You mean the "officials jurisdiction begins when..." question?

No, this one:

A substitute free throw is awarded if there are simultaneous violations by opponents:

A. And the try is successful.
B. And the try is unsuccessful.

These are the only two choices.

Rich Sat Dec 17, 2016 08:28pm

How about this one?

Which is a foul that may be either personal or technical?
A. Common
B. Flagrant
C. Intentional
D. Player-control

So there are 2 correct answers for this one. No choices that allow me to specify more than one, though.

ODog Sat Dec 17, 2016 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 995124)
Part 2 is the worst written exam I've taken in 30 years of officiating.

I know some states use it as closed book ...

I live in an IAABO state, so our exam format is nothing like this. What is this exactly ... the NFHS exam?

Rich Sat Dec 17, 2016 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 995148)
I live in an IAABO state, so our exam format is nothing like this. What is this exactly ... the NFHS exam?

These are two actual questions off this year's NFHS Part 2 exam, both of which have no one correct answer.

There are other horrible questions, as well.

ODog Sat Dec 17, 2016 08:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 995149)
These are two actual questions off this year's NFHS Part 2 exam, both of which have no one correct answer.

There are other horrible questions, as well.

Wow. In addition to the questionable basketball value in these questions, it seems English as a primary language is also optional. Crazy!

bob jenkins Sat Dec 17, 2016 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995128)
This (below) is not exactly the same, but points to a player technical foul.

8.1.1 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try for goal. The calling
official has properly reported the foul and is in position for the free throws.
The administering official has given all instructions and signals. Team B is properly
occupying the required spaces, but three teammates of A1 are huddling
inside the lane. RULING: Team A is warned for delay, the scorer records it and it
is reported to the head coach. If Team A commits any delay thereafter in the
game, a team technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Since this situation is
not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.
If
the free thrower is in the semicircle, but does not accept the ball, it shall be placed
on the floor and the count started.

This isn't after the ROP procedure -- which I an guessing the OP was since it was the "second violation" (or some such -- I didn't go back and check the wording).

BillyMac Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:08pm

None Of The Above ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995142)
So what you're saying according to the rule is that it's a technical foul on player A1. But there is no option for that answer on the test just a technical on team A only.

Exactly my point.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995108)
Is this just a bad question with no correct answer?


BigCat Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995156)
Exactly my point.

See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.

BillyMac Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:31pm

Penalties ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995157)
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.

No ROP - Player technical foul.

ROP (second delay) - Team technical foul.

Doesn't seem right?

BigCat Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995158)
No ROP - Player technical foul.

ROP (second delay) - Team technical foul.

Doesn't seem right?

It's the rule following Timeouts. Resumption of play.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 18, 2016 02:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 995147)
How about this one?

Which is a foul that may be either personal or technical?
A. Common
B. Flagrant
C. Intentional
D. Player-control

So there are 2 correct answers for this one. No choices that allow me to specify more than one, though.

B.

There really is no act defined in the book as an intentional technical and calling something one, instead of just a technical, is meaningless.

Rich Sun Dec 18, 2016 03:37am

Part 2 test
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by camron rust (Post 995165)
b.

There really is no act defined in the book as an intentional technical and calling something one, instead of just a technical, is meaningless.



4-19-3.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 18, 2016 06:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995142)
So what you're saying according to the rule is that it's a technical foul on player A1. But there is no option for that answer on the test just a technical on team A only.

Because he is incorrect.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 18, 2016 06:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995157)
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.

Correct. Sad that Billy doesn't know this after about 40 years of officiating.

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:11am

Penalty ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995160)
It's the rule following Timeouts. Resumption of play.

I (almost) fully understand Resumption of Play procedure. I just don't understand the penalty phase, team technical, or player technical.

This (original thread) case: After a timeout, free throw shooter delays, ball is placed on the floor, ten second violation is called, free throw shooter still delays ("for the second time"), team technical foul is charged.

A different case: Not after a timeout, free throw shooter delays, player technical foul is charged.

How about a reference that the team, not a player, is always charged with technical foul in the ROP procedure? Please.

bob jenkins Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995157)
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.

Team B is assessed a T. Coach A doesn't (after being asked) name a shooter.

Do you asses Coach A with a direct T? Ask the Captain? Assess Captain A with a T? Assess a Team T? Other? Reference?

(I'd vote for option A, but I don't know if there's something specific I'm missing)

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:17am

Offending Team ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995173)
How about a reference that the team, not a player, is always charged with technical foul in the ROP procedure? Please.

Is this (below) what you guys are hanging your hat on (for a team technical rather than a player technical)?

Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the
whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the
thrower or placed on the floor and the count shall begin. Either or both teams may
be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the
offending team(s) continues to delay, a technical foul shall be ruled.


Is it the fact that "offending team" and "technical foul" are found in the same sentence?

I was using this (below) as after timeout a technical foul is not charged immediately, but rather, the ball is first placed at the disposal of the free throw shooter (that's the resumption-of-play procedure), then the player technical foul is charged.

A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as:
The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is
ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure
is in effect following a time-out or intermission.


Along with this (below) (I'm aware that this isn't a ROP):

Since this situation is not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.


So, I'm back to this (below)?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995158)
No ROP - Player technical foul.

ROP (second delay) - Team technical foul.


BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995173)
I (almost) fully understand Resumption of Play procedure. I just don't understand the penalty phase, team technical, or player technical.

This (original thread) case: After a timeout, free throw shooter delays, ball is placed on the floor, ten second violation is called, free throw shooter still delays ("for the second time"), team technical foul is charged.

A different case: Not after a timeout, free throw shooter delays, player technical foul is charged.

How about a reference that the team, not a player, is always charged with technical foul in the ROP procedure? Please.

8-1-2. It SAYS it is a TEAM technical, if the team that violated initially, A on the first FT, continues to delay.

Now, keep in mind, if A1 is just being an ass i believe you always have the option of calling something unsporting and giving A1 a T. Or if the coach is audibly being an ass telling A1 not to go in there you can always give him one for being unsporting.

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995175)
Is this (below) what you guys are hanging your hat on (for a team technical rather than a player technical)?

Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the
whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the
thrower or placed on the floor and the count shall begin. Either or both teams may
be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the
offending team(s) continues to delay, a technical foul shall be ruled.


Is it the fact that "offending team" and "technical foul" are found in the same sentence?

I was using this (below) as after timeout a technical foul is not charged immediately, but rather, the ball is first placed at the disposal of the free throw shooter (that's the resumption-of-play procedure), then the player technical foul is charged.

A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as:
The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is
ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure
is in effect following a time-out or intermission.


Along with this (below) (I'm aware that this isn't a ROP):

Since this situation is not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.


So, I'm back to this (below)?

You need to get a current rule book. 8-1-2 says it is a "team technical."
That is why...it is a team technical. You have not quoted the current 8-1-2. Yours is an older version.

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995174)
Team B is assessed a T. Coach A doesn't (after being asked) name a shooter.

Do you asses Coach A with a direct T? Ask the Captain? Assess Captain A with a T? Assess a Team T? Other? Reference?

(I'd vote for option A, but I don't know if there's something specific I'm missing)

It's not following a timeout and its not a throw in so resumption of play procedure isnt used. Direct T to coach. I dont see this happening. (Call a T on B and A refuses to give me a shooter.)

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:48am

Thanks BigCat ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995178)
You need to get a current rule book. 8-1-2 says it is a "team technical."
That is why...it is a team technical. You have not quoted the current 8-1-2. Yours is an older version.

Pick a prize from the top shelf.

Thanks for your due diligence. I was too lazy to get my current book (printed on dead trees) in my bag in another room. My digital version, on my computer, is a few years old.

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:50am

Code Of Conduct ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995180)
(Call a T on B and A refuses to give me a shooter.)

Will never happen. Coaches will never act like a..holes. Never, ever.

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995181)
Pick a prize from the top shelf.

Thanks for your due diligence. I was too lazy to get my current book (printed on dead trees) in my bag in another room. My digital version, on my computer, is a few years old.

You can buy another one for $6 and have it on your phone...unless your phone is rotary dialed...

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:57am

They Still Sell These ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995183)
You can buy another one for $6 and have it on your phone...unless your phone is rotary dialed...

Close, it's a flip phone.

I don't get a signal at work (basement, lots of electronics), and I get a poor signal at home, (mountain between me and the cell tower, I only get a weak signal by my second floor bedroom window). I just use my flip phone in the car on my daily commute.

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995184)
Close, it's a flip phone.

I just use my flip phone in the car on my daily commute.

That is illegal in Connecticut....without a hands free device. Do they make hands free devices for your dinosaur phone??

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:04pm

True Story ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995183)
... unless your phone is rotary dialed...

About fifteen years ago, before I retired from teaching, I was supervising a group of student volunteers at a bloodmobile at the local Moose Lodge. One student asked to use the phone, that was located in another room. The student came back stating that he didn't know how to use the phone. It was a rotary phone.

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:06pm

Are You A Cop, You Have To Tell Me If You Are ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995185)
That is illegal in Connecticut....

Correct. Hands free blue tooth speaker on my sun visor.

bob jenkins Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995180)
It's not following a timeout and its not a throw in so resumption of play procedure isnt used. Direct T to coach. I dont see this happening. (Call a T on B and A refuses to give me a shooter.)

What if after the T there is a TO? Does that change your answer? (I can see A staying n the huddle, perhaps, on this one).

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995188)
What if after the T there is a TO? Does that change your answer? (I can see A staying n the huddle, perhaps, on this one).

Yes, resumption of play is used after TO.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 19, 2016 03:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 995167)
4-19-3.

Yes, I know it is defined. But, that is the end of it. None of the sub-parts of that rule apply during a dead ball. They either explicitly mention live ball or are in relation to a play (which also doesn't happen during a dead ball). It lists no examples of acts that occur during a dead ball. We all take it to be excessive contact during a dead ball, but why does it explicitly mention live ball if that is the case?

I think the implication in the rules is that you call a simple technical foul when contact occurs that would have been an intentional foul during a live ball. There is never a case where you need to call an intentional technical as it means absolutely nothing.

That explanation fits the question.

Rich Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:12am

It's a poor question. We refer to it as an intentional technical, the definitions do as well.

Adam Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 995225)
Yes, I know it is defined. But, that is the end of it. None of the sub-parts of that rule apply during a dead ball. They either explicitly mention live ball or are in relation to a play (which also doesn't happen during a dead ball). It lists no examples of acts that occur during a dead ball. We all take it to be excessive contact during a dead ball, but why does it explicitly mention live ball if that is the case?

I think the implication in the rules is that you call a simple technical foul when contact occurs that would have been an intentional foul during a live ball. There is never a case where you need to call an intentional technical as it means absolutely nothing.

That explanation fits the question.

Your logic, while sound, doesn't make this a better question. We constantly tell newer officials not to read too much into the questions on the test. Hell, that's normally a good test taking strategy in any situation (I just took a state licensing test and that was the biggest advice I was given during the preparation for the test).

This question, however, demands that you read a lot into it that's not there. I'd be curious to see which answer the NFHS deems correct.

Rich Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 995243)
Your logic, while sound, doesn't make this a better question. We constantly tell newer officials not to read too much into the questions on the test. Hell, that's normally a good test taking strategy in any situation (I just took a state licensing test and that was the biggest advice I was given during the preparation for the test).

This question, however, demands that you read a lot into it that's not there. I'd be curious to see which answer the NFHS deems correct.

The answer follows Cameron's logic, however it doesn't make the question any better.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1