The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Part 2 test (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101970-part-2-test.html)

ODog Sat Dec 17, 2016 08:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 995149)
These are two actual questions off this year's NFHS Part 2 exam, both of which have no one correct answer.

There are other horrible questions, as well.

Wow. In addition to the questionable basketball value in these questions, it seems English as a primary language is also optional. Crazy!

bob jenkins Sat Dec 17, 2016 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995128)
This (below) is not exactly the same, but points to a player technical foul.

8.1.1 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try for goal. The calling
official has properly reported the foul and is in position for the free throws.
The administering official has given all instructions and signals. Team B is properly
occupying the required spaces, but three teammates of A1 are huddling
inside the lane. RULING: Team A is warned for delay, the scorer records it and it
is reported to the head coach. If Team A commits any delay thereafter in the
game, a team technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Since this situation is
not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.
If
the free thrower is in the semicircle, but does not accept the ball, it shall be placed
on the floor and the count started.

This isn't after the ROP procedure -- which I an guessing the OP was since it was the "second violation" (or some such -- I didn't go back and check the wording).

BillyMac Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:08pm

None Of The Above ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995142)
So what you're saying according to the rule is that it's a technical foul on player A1. But there is no option for that answer on the test just a technical on team A only.

Exactly my point.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995108)
Is this just a bad question with no correct answer?


BigCat Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995156)
Exactly my point.

See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.

BillyMac Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:31pm

Penalties ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995157)
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.

No ROP - Player technical foul.

ROP (second delay) - Team technical foul.

Doesn't seem right?

BigCat Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995158)
No ROP - Player technical foul.

ROP (second delay) - Team technical foul.

Doesn't seem right?

It's the rule following Timeouts. Resumption of play.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 18, 2016 02:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 995147)
How about this one?

Which is a foul that may be either personal or technical?
A. Common
B. Flagrant
C. Intentional
D. Player-control

So there are 2 correct answers for this one. No choices that allow me to specify more than one, though.

B.

There really is no act defined in the book as an intentional technical and calling something one, instead of just a technical, is meaningless.

Rich Sun Dec 18, 2016 03:37am

Part 2 test
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by camron rust (Post 995165)
b.

There really is no act defined in the book as an intentional technical and calling something one, instead of just a technical, is meaningless.



4-19-3.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 18, 2016 06:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 995142)
So what you're saying according to the rule is that it's a technical foul on player A1. But there is no option for that answer on the test just a technical on team A only.

Because he is incorrect.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 18, 2016 06:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995157)
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.

Correct. Sad that Billy doesn't know this after about 40 years of officiating.

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:11am

Penalty ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995160)
It's the rule following Timeouts. Resumption of play.

I (almost) fully understand Resumption of Play procedure. I just don't understand the penalty phase, team technical, or player technical.

This (original thread) case: After a timeout, free throw shooter delays, ball is placed on the floor, ten second violation is called, free throw shooter still delays ("for the second time"), team technical foul is charged.

A different case: Not after a timeout, free throw shooter delays, player technical foul is charged.

How about a reference that the team, not a player, is always charged with technical foul in the ROP procedure? Please.

bob jenkins Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 995157)
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.

Team B is assessed a T. Coach A doesn't (after being asked) name a shooter.

Do you asses Coach A with a direct T? Ask the Captain? Assess Captain A with a T? Assess a Team T? Other? Reference?

(I'd vote for option A, but I don't know if there's something specific I'm missing)

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:17am

Offending Team ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995173)
How about a reference that the team, not a player, is always charged with technical foul in the ROP procedure? Please.

Is this (below) what you guys are hanging your hat on (for a team technical rather than a player technical)?

Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the
whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the
thrower or placed on the floor and the count shall begin. Either or both teams may
be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the
offending team(s) continues to delay, a technical foul shall be ruled.


Is it the fact that "offending team" and "technical foul" are found in the same sentence?

I was using this (below) as after timeout a technical foul is not charged immediately, but rather, the ball is first placed at the disposal of the free throw shooter (that's the resumption-of-play procedure), then the player technical foul is charged.

A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as:
The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is
ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure
is in effect following a time-out or intermission.


Along with this (below) (I'm aware that this isn't a ROP):

Since this situation is not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.


So, I'm back to this (below)?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995158)
No ROP - Player technical foul.

ROP (second delay) - Team technical foul.


BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995173)
I (almost) fully understand Resumption of Play procedure. I just don't understand the penalty phase, team technical, or player technical.

This (original thread) case: After a timeout, free throw shooter delays, ball is placed on the floor, ten second violation is called, free throw shooter still delays ("for the second time"), team technical foul is charged.

A different case: Not after a timeout, free throw shooter delays, player technical foul is charged.

How about a reference that the team, not a player, is always charged with technical foul in the ROP procedure? Please.

8-1-2. It SAYS it is a TEAM technical, if the team that violated initially, A on the first FT, continues to delay.

Now, keep in mind, if A1 is just being an ass i believe you always have the option of calling something unsporting and giving A1 a T. Or if the coach is audibly being an ass telling A1 not to go in there you can always give him one for being unsporting.

BigCat Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 995175)
Is this (below) what you guys are hanging your hat on (for a team technical rather than a player technical)?

Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the
whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the
thrower or placed on the floor and the count shall begin. Either or both teams may
be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the
offending team(s) continues to delay, a technical foul shall be ruled.


Is it the fact that "offending team" and "technical foul" are found in the same sentence?

I was using this (below) as after timeout a technical foul is not charged immediately, but rather, the ball is first placed at the disposal of the free throw shooter (that's the resumption-of-play procedure), then the player technical foul is charged.

A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as:
The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is
ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure
is in effect following a time-out or intermission.


Along with this (below) (I'm aware that this isn't a ROP):

Since this situation is not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.


So, I'm back to this (below)?

You need to get a current rule book. 8-1-2 says it is a "team technical."
That is why...it is a team technical. You have not quoted the current 8-1-2. Yours is an older version.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1