The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2016, 01:42pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
Case Book 8.1.1 A1 is awarded two free throws. After the players have had sufficient opportunity and time to take their positions for the first throw, the administering official bounces the ball to the free thrower. Did the official follow proper procedure?

Ruling:

Yes. On free throws the word disposal is interpreted to mean that the official shall bounce the ball to the free thrower, but if the free thrower refuses to accept it, the official may place the ball on the floor at the free throw line and begin his count. This procedure constitutes putting the ball at the free thrower's disposal.

9.1.3 The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free throw semi-circle leaves the semi-circle to confer with a teammate.

Ruling: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave OR enter the free throw semi-circle without violating until restrictions have ended.

Neither of these case plays are ROP plays.

In this case the player is outside and won't come in. The official placed it at his disposal and the violation was called as soon as he entered. Where does it say this is automatic T?

It is not in the Technical foul chart or in any rule or play I can find.

In this particular game, I could see whacking #2 for an unsporting action/behavior. I get that. But, forget this game. For those that would whack a player right away for not coming in, what rule are you using to support that?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2016, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
What are you going to do? Stand there and beg him? Do what these guys did and look like a crew of chumps? Take care of business and move on.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2016, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by walt View Post
In this particular game, I could see whacking #2 for an unsporting action/behavior. I get that. But, forget this game. For those that would whack a player right away for not coming in, what rule are you using to support that?
Not listening to instructions. Your scenario presumes the player is in the semi circle.

Look at the ROP and the scenarios for DOG.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2016, 01:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by walt View Post
It is not in the Technical foul chart or in any rule or play I can find.

In this particular game, I could see whacking #2 for an unsporting action/behavior. I get that. But, forget this game. For those that would whack a player right away for not coming in, what rule are you using to support that?
Sniper quoted it:

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
ART. 5

A player shall not:

Delay the game by acts such as:

a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.

b. Failing when in possession, to immediately pass the ball to the nearer official when a whistle sounds.

c. The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure is in effect following a time-out or intermission.

d. Repeated violations of the throw-in, as in 9-2-10.

ART. 6
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2016, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by walt View Post
In this particular game, I could see whacking #2 for an unsporting action/behavior. I get that. But, forget this game. For those that would whack a player right away for not coming in, what rule are you using to support that?
10-4-5-a
10-4-5-c
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MCL Problem??? mean Gene Basketball 8 Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:39am
I don't see a problem harmbu Basketball 16 Sat Jan 19, 2013 09:28pm
Problem player greymule Softball 4 Mon Oct 02, 2006 06:40am
608 Problem mick Basketball 13 Thu Oct 17, 2002 05:55am
Not our problem but.... Just Curious Softball 14 Thu Mar 07, 2002 10:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1