The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Dec 10, 2016, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member

Average Numeber of Called Fouls

I would like some idea from those of you that have been officiating for awhile of the average number of personal fouls you have seen called in games (middle - high school, with eight minute stop clock quarters) over the course of your careers. I know that the number of fouls called in any particular game is ideally based on the number of fouls committed in that game and that this number can vary widely. But I would imagine that those of you that have been doing this for years have some sense of the "average." I am new at all of this, but even I would think that 100 in a game is very, very high and 1 is very, very low. But what is the average range? Also does this average vary by grade level and boys vs. girls?

One of our three person crews was criticized by a losing coach in the local newspaper for calling 50 personal fouls with 77 free throws in a girls varsity game. Presumably this is higher than the losing coach usually sees. (The winning team had 44 free throw attempts and the losing team 33. So it wasn't hugely out of balance.)

Thanks.

Thanks.
Old Sat Dec 10, 2016, 02:37pm
I got a Basketball Jones!

There is no optimal number...

Call the obvious.

Call as many as needed..

This comment was from the losing coach, right?

Stop reading the newspaper, sports section in particular.
Old Sat Dec 10, 2016, 02:47pm
9/11 - Never Forget

Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Not a Stock Holder of GHC?

Yeah, believe everything you read on the internet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Stop reading the newspaper, sports section in particular.
That's an awful broad paint brush.
Old Sat Dec 10, 2016, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member