The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 03:33am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Play 1: BC violation before foul, new Lead needs to help with this

Play 2: CC delayed lane violation
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?
You are where you were till you get where you're going. Player is in front court until he lands.

To be legal on that play, he would of needed to get one foot down in the BC before he caught the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
You are where you were till you get where you're going. Player is in front court until he lands.

To be legal on that play, he would of needed to get one foot down in the BC before he caught the ball.
And, in case some aren't sure, if you are touching the half line, you are considered to be in the backcourt.......similar to stepping on the sideline or endline to be out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Why was Center official so low on back court press coverage? There were two officials officiating ball and defender (2 players). Not surprised this happened with Center's positioning on this particular play.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
Why was Center official so low on back court press coverage? There were two officials officiating ball and defender (2 players). Not surprised this happened with Center's positioning on this particular play.
That and he was taken out by the ball handler after making the pass.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
Why was Center official so low on back court press coverage? There were two officials officiating ball and defender (2 players). Not surprised this happened with Center's positioning on this particular play.
Since we're talking mechanics/positioning, I'm not familiar with the nitty gritty of NCAA-M mechanics. On the second play, I didn't see anyone signal a delayed violation?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Since we're talking mechanics/positioning, I'm not familiar with the nitty gritty of NCAA-M mechanics. On the second play, I didn't see anyone signal a delayed violation?
Because once you make that signal you are obligate to make the call. It has it's time and place.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 10:14am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Since we're talking mechanics/positioning, I'm not familiar with the nitty gritty of NCAA-M mechanics. On the second play, I didn't see anyone signal a delayed violation?
The person who should have displayed that signal did not, so another official made the call.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 06:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
Why was Center official so low on back court press coverage? There were two officials officiating ball and defender (2 players). Not surprised this happened with Center's positioning on this particular play.
I see no reason why the slot came down so far. I would only do so if there were a trap down there. The trail was in a position to see the play by himself. As slot, I would have been up with the second group of players.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 08:08am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I see no reason why the slot came down so far. I would only do so if there were a trap down there. The trail was in a position to see the play by himself. As slot, I would have been up with the second group of players.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
I can see why he initially dropped down...but once it's evident that the matchup will be a 1 on 1 match up...and the rest of the players are going upcourt, I would have liked for the slot to work upcourt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?
The "exception" that allows an airborne player to catch the ball and make a normal landing (NFHS 9-9-3/NCAA 9-12-9,10) applies only during a throw-in, jump ball, or while on defense.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
Foul, No Violation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)
__________________
"He who says he can and he who says he can't are both usually correct." - Confucius
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 11:53am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
The player's location is where he jumped from. He jumped from the FC and touched the ball in the air. Then he appears to land at least in part in the BC. That is a violation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefRich View Post
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)
An airborne player retains the status of where he last touched the floor. You have frontcourt status if you jump from the frontcourt and have backcourt status once you land.

And player control is not (necessarily) required in the frontcourt to have a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Indiana vs. North Carolina (Video) JRutledge Basketball 5 Sat Mar 26, 2016 12:24pm
...In North Carolina.... mick Basketball 27 Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:23am
Mess in North Carolina. RecRef Basketball 3 Wed Feb 26, 2003 12:05pm
North Carolina nyblue20 Baseball 3 Tue Feb 25, 2003 04:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1