The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
Foul, No Violation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)
__________________
"He who says he can and he who says he can't are both usually correct." - Confucius
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 11:53am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
The player's location is where he jumped from. He jumped from the FC and touched the ball in the air. Then he appears to land at least in part in the BC. That is a violation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefRich View Post
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)
An airborne player retains the status of where he last touched the floor. You have frontcourt status if you jump from the frontcourt and have backcourt status once you land.

And player control is not (necessarily) required in the frontcourt to have a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 03:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefRich View Post
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)
Player and team control had already been established, then a pass was thrown between teammates. The receiving teammate jumped from the FC (he continues to have FC status until he lands) and catches the ball. Now you have player and team control in the FC (player control in the FC is not actually required, but it's hear in this play). As soon as he lands in the BC you have a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Indiana vs. North Carolina (Video) JRutledge Basketball 5 Sat Mar 26, 2016 12:24pm
...In North Carolina.... mick Basketball 27 Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:23am
Mess in North Carolina. RecRef Basketball 3 Wed Feb 26, 2003 12:05pm
North Carolina nyblue20 Baseball 3 Tue Feb 25, 2003 04:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1