![]() |
|
|
|||
SITUATION 8, RULINGS (d) and (e) seem to be incorrect. Each error seems to have been discovered no later than the first dead ball after the clock had properly started. And the point of interruption to rectify the error would be a throw-in by A at a spot nearest the foul. Right?
(Edited...)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call Last edited by Freddy; Mon Oct 17, 2016 at 02:15pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the first correctable error play, i think, in case book 2.10 section team A is to get 2 shots. B rebounds the first FT and they play on. head to other end. play says B getting the rebound is not a "change of possession" so you go back and shoot As second FT and play from there. Here, B is rebounding the FT that should have never taken place or inbounding the ball after the FTs that shouldn't have taken place. It is considered a change of possession. So A gets its two FTs cancelled and they don't get the opportunity to score after because the ball is going to B. correctable errors are bad. If there's a screw up somebody is going to get…Here team A. and...Now that I read C that may be his issue. When B1 grabs the ball for the throw in they have possession. i like the result better than d and e but it doesn't seem to follow the rule. Last edited by BigCat; Mon Oct 17, 2016 at 10:40am. |
|
|||
Actually, I agree with d & e. However, as BigCat points out those are inconsistent with c, and even part b. Consult 2-10-6 and 4-36. You will see that 2-10-6 instructs the officials to resume at the POI and 4-36-2b tells us that POI includes when a team is entitled to a throw-in.
Therefore, BY RULE Team B should be awarded a throw-in following the correction of the error in both parts b and c of Situation 8. The casebook play BigCat refers to is also incorrect as it fails to properly account for the POI and laughably states that the opposing team rebounding the missed FT and dribbling up the court isn't a change of possession. It clearly is. I can understand if the NFHS desires Team A to get the ball back after having its unmerited FTs nullified. However, that isn't what the rules currently state, so the NFHS would need to make a change to the rules, if it wants that outcome. |
|
|||
I am not certain that "POI" and "the point at which the game was stopped to correct the error" (or whatever the specific wording in in the book) are exactly synonymous.
I do agree that the case play BigCat referenced is wrong, but it's been wrong for even longer than the back-court fiasco. And, the definition of the terms and the rule could be clarified (but I think we need to be careful what we wish for.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Have you looked at the wording of 2-10-6 lately? |
|
|||
No. I don't have the books handy.
Edit: I see they have it as POI now, and include "CE" as one of the reasons to use POI in the POI definition. Last edited by bob jenkins; Thu Oct 20, 2016 at 07:57am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS Past Interpretations Archive (2024-25 Added) | Nevadaref | Basketball | 39 | Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:52am |
NFHS Rules Changes 2016-17 | SC Official | Basketball | 48 | Fri May 20, 2016 07:04pm |
2016 NFHS Rule Change | OKREF | Football | 18 | Tue Mar 01, 2016 03:46pm |
2016 NFHS rules presentation | john5396 | Baseball | 2 | Sun Feb 14, 2016 02:34pm |
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out | Welpe | Baseball | 9 | Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am |