The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2016, 07:52pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
Why is B4 getting the foul instead of B2?
Besides this obvious mistake, as well as the one Billy Mac mentioned above, there are at least two others:

"Page 20, 3.3.6 Situation C change 0 seconds to 15 seconds" should read "20 seconds."
"5.4.19 change 20 seconds to 15 seconds" should read "5.4.1A".

At least their situation 11 validates the concept suggested by one of our contributors that 6-4-5 makes the omission of "legally" in 4-42-5a a moot point.

And their total "Ruling Correction" 9.12 Situation B solved that error.

Anything else erroneous in the new books solved by these "Interpretations" (= "Corrections")?

At work I'd get fired for errors like this. Charitably speaking, the NFHS committee to really needs to review their review process and publishing quality control.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Wed Oct 12, 2016 at 07:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 13, 2016, 09:16am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Besides this obvious mistake, as well as the one Billy Mac mentioned above, there are at least two others:

"Page 20, 3.3.6 Situation C change 0 seconds to 15 seconds" should read "20 seconds."
"5.4.19 change 20 seconds to 15 seconds" should read "5.4.1A".

At least their situation 11 validates the concept suggested by one of our contributors that 6-4-5 makes the omission of "legally" in 4-42-5a a moot point.

And their total "Ruling Correction" 9.12 Situation B solved that error.

Anything else erroneous in the new books solved by these "Interpretations" (= "Corrections")?

At work I'd get fired for errors like this. Charitably speaking, the NFHS committee to really needs to review their review process and publishing quality control.
But we know what they really want, so it's no big deal.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 01:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Can't agree with the rulings in Situation 8 due to the text of rule 2-10.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Can't agree with the rulings in Situation 8 due to the text of rule 2-10.
Care to elaborate?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 10:16am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Care to elaborate?
SITUATION 8, RULINGS (d) and (e) seem to be incorrect. Each error seems to have been discovered no later than the first dead ball after the clock had properly started. And the point of interruption to rectify the error would be a throw-in by A at a spot nearest the foul. Right?
(Edited...)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Mon Oct 17, 2016 at 02:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
SITUATION 8, RULINGS (d) and (e) seem to be incorrect, correct? Each seem to have been no later than the first dead ball after the clock had properly started.
The errors are within the correctable error time frame. The FTs can still be canceled. I'm assuming/guessing that the issue is with giving B the ball in d and e after canceling As FTs.

In the first correctable error play, i think, in case book 2.10 section team A is to get 2 shots. B rebounds the first FT and they play on. head to other end. play says B getting the rebound is not a "change of possession" so you go back and shoot As second FT and play from there.

Here, B is rebounding the FT that should have never taken place or inbounding the ball after the FTs that shouldn't have taken place. It is considered a change of possession. So A gets its two FTs cancelled and they don't get the opportunity to score after because the ball is going to B.

correctable errors are bad. If there's a screw up somebody is going to get…Here team A.

and...Now that I read C that may be his issue. When B1 grabs the ball for the throw in they have possession. i like the result better than d and e but it doesn't seem to follow the rule.

Last edited by BigCat; Mon Oct 17, 2016 at 10:40am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2016, 02:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Actually, I agree with d & e. However, as BigCat points out those are inconsistent with c, and even part b. Consult 2-10-6 and 4-36. You will see that 2-10-6 instructs the officials to resume at the POI and 4-36-2b tells us that POI includes when a team is entitled to a throw-in.

Therefore, BY RULE Team B should be awarded a throw-in following the correction of the error in both parts b and c of Situation 8.

The casebook play BigCat refers to is also incorrect as it fails to properly account for the POI and laughably states that the opposing team rebounding the missed FT and dribbling up the court isn't a change of possession. It clearly is.

I can understand if the NFHS desires Team A to get the ball back after having its unmerited FTs nullified. However, that isn't what the rules currently state, so the NFHS would need to make a change to the rules, if it wants that outcome.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 06:45am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
But we know what they really want, so it's no big deal.
Pretty much.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Past Interpretations Archive (2024-25 Added) Nevadaref Basketball 39 Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:52am
NFHS Rules Changes 2016-17 SC Official Basketball 48 Fri May 20, 2016 07:04pm
2016 NFHS Rule Change OKREF Football 18 Tue Mar 01, 2016 03:46pm
2016 NFHS rules presentation john5396 Baseball 2 Sun Feb 14, 2016 02:34pm
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out Welpe Baseball 9 Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1